NDSU Hosts 43rd Bison Open Saturday

The North Dakota State wrestling team will host the 43rd annual Bison Open on Saturday, Nov. 9. Action in the Bison Sports Arena is scheduled to start at 10 a.m.

Along with North Dakota State, teams with individuals competing Saturday are expected to include preseason No. 2 Minnesota, South Dakota State, MSU Moorhead, Concordia, Southwest Minnesota State, University of Mary, Jamestown College and Northern State.

NDSU BisonLive Results
Bison Open results will be available throughout the day on TrackWrestling.com and linked on GoBison.com.

Live Results  |  Tickets

Five Champs in 2012
After claiming five Bison Open individual titles from 2008-11, NDSU crowned five champions at the 2012 edition of the Bison Open. Senior Trent Sprenkle (125), unattached freshman Josh Rodriguez (133), senior Joe Garner (149), junior Steven Monk (165) and senior Mac Stoll (184) all went unbeaten on the day to win individual championships.

Streak Stays Alive
2012 marked the seventh year in a row that at least one Bison came away with a Bison Open title, but it was the first time since 2009 that NDSU won multiple championships at the Bison Open. The five champions were NDSU’s most at the Bison Open since crowning eight in 2003.

Decorated Staff
Between head coach Roger Kish and assistants Bret Maughan, Manny Rivera and Trent Sprenkle, the Bison coaches have combined to win nine Bison Open championships. Kish won the Bison Open four times at 184 pounds between 2004 and 2007. Rivera claimed three championships at 141 pounds from 2005-07, and Maughan won the 1989 title at 126 pounds. Sprenkle won the 125-pound crown last season. Kish and Rivera wrestled for the University of Minnesota, while Maughan and Sprenkle were All-Americans at NDSU.

High Regard for Monk
Two-time NCAA qualifier Steven Monk has been ranked No. 3 in the nation by Intermat at 165 pounds entering the season. Monk went 36-4 last season and owns 72 wins over the previous two years. He posted six wins over opponents ranked in the nation’s top 15 last season.

Getting Started
NDSU redshirt freshmen Hunter Weber (125), Justin Scherkenbach (133), Matthew Gray (157) and Colt Castlebury (197) made their collegiate debuts vs. No. 13 Missouri on Nov. 1.

Recent NDSU Champions at the Bison Open
2012: Trent Sprenkle (125), Josh Rodriguez (133), Joe Garner (149), Steven Monk (165), Mac Stoll (184)
2011: Kurtis Julson (174)
2010: Vince Salminen (157)
2009: Tyler Johnson (165), Kenny Moenkedick (184)
2008: Kenny Moenkedick (184)
2007: Adam Aho (157)
2006: Eric Sanders (133), Jacob Bryce (197)

Steven Monk: On the Brink
NDSU All-Access will chronicle the season of senior 165-pounder Steven Monk with a video documentary series on GoBison.com and YouTube.com/NDSUathletics. “On the Brink” will air in monthly episodes. Monk’s No. 3 national ranking is the highest in NDSU history.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?