North Dakota State 30, South Dakota State 13

Bison Wrestling Cruises to 30-13 Victory at SDSU, Claims Border Bell

BROOKINGS, S.D. – The North Dakota State wrestling team won seven out of 10 matches and registered three pins to post a 30-13 dual victory at South Dakota State on Saturday in the inaugural Battle for the Border Bell.

NDSU BisonNDSU (2-2) will take possession of the 100-pound kettlebell traveling trophy. The Bison have now won four consecutive duals against SDSU and own victories in 15 of the last 17 meetings between the two schools.

SDSU (0-3) earned decisions at 149 pounds and 157 pounds and recorded a win by fall at 197 pounds.

NDSU redshirt freshman Hunter Weber started the dual off with a first-period pin of Isaac Andrade at 125 pounds. Senior Justin LaValle, down to 133 pounds from his traditional 141, followed up with a pin of Brance Simms to give the Bison an early 12-0 lead.

Redshirt freshman Clay Cathey claimed his first dual meet victory for NDSU with a 2-1 decision over Eric Orozco at 141 pounds, giving the Bison a 15-0 lead.

No. 5 Steven Monk and No. 18 Hayden Zillmer earned decisions at 165 and 174 pounds, respectively, and Kurtis Julson won a 9-4 decision over Shea Nolan at 184 pounds to clinch the dual victory for the Bison.

Heavyweight Evan Knutson won by fall in the final match of the day, pinning J.J. Everard in 5:26 to set the final margin at 30-13.

SDSU will return to the mat on Dec. 8 as they travel to Sioux Falls to take on in-state foe, Augustana in the Sanford Pentagon. This will be the first matchup between the two schools since 2003-04.

NDSU will wrestle at the Dragon Open in Moorhead, Minn., on Saturday, Dec. 7.

North Dakota State 30, South Dakota State 13
125: Hunter Weber (NDSU) wins by fall over Isaac Andrade (SDSU) 2:12 (0-6)
133: Justin LaValle (NDSU) wins by fall over Brance Simms (SDSU) 3:25 (0-12)
141: Clay Cathey (NDSU) wins by decision over Eric Orozco (SDSU) 2-1 (0-15)
149: Alex Kocer (SDSU) wins by decision over Tyler Diamond (NDSU) 6-5 (3-15)
157: Cody Pack (SDSU) wins by major decision over Matt Gray (NDSU) 13-4 (7-15)
165: No. 5 Steven Monk (NDSU) wins by decision over Joe Brewster (SDSU) 7-1 (7-18)
174: No. 19 Hayden Zillmer (NDSU) wins by decision over Brady Ayers (SDSU) 8-4 (7-21)
184: Kurtis Julson (NDSU) wins by decision over Shea Nolan (SDSU) 9-4 (7-24)
197: Trey Hable (SDSU) wins by fall over Colt Castlebury (NDSU) 0:42 (13-24)
285: Evan Knutson (NDSU) wins by fall over J.J. Everard (SDSU) 5:26 (13-30)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?