Augustana 30, MSU-Mankato 10

Augustana records two pins in big dual victory over Minnesota State

MANKATO, Minn. – Augustana wrestling got pins from Morgan Engbrecht and Shawn Hatlestad in a 30-10 win over Minnesota State University on Saturday night in Mankato, Minn. The Vikings improve to 10-4 on the season, including 3-1 in NSIC action while MSU drops to 2-6, 2-2 NSIC.

Augustana VikingsAugustana started off the night with a 6-0 lead as TJ North won by forfeit in the 125-pound bout to start off the night. The Vikings quickly extended their lead to 12-0 after Engbrecht (133 pounds) recorded his fourth pin of the season in 2:30 which marked his fastest win by fall this year.

Minnesota State got on the board at 141 pounds when Alphonso Vruno won a 17-9 major decision over Jacob Anderson to bring the team score to 12-4 in favor of Augustana. Hatlestad (149 pounds) put the momentum right back in Augustana’s favor as he recorded his fourth pin of the season over MSU’s Jeremy Kelly in 2:26. Hatlestad jumped out to a quick 8-0 lead in the first period with two 3-point nearfalls before gaining the pin to give Augustana a 18-4 lead.

MSU won a decision at 157 pounds to make the score 18-7 but Parker Swanson won a 3-1 decision over MSU’s Sawyer Hoffman in the 165-pound bout to make the score 21-7 in Augustana’s favor.

The Mavericks won their only other bout of the night on a 3-2 decision at 174 pounds when Darick Vancura defeated Augustana’s Jeff Nielsen. Augustana went on to win the final three bouts of the night, including eighth-ranked Sean Derry’s 8-2 decision over Scott VanDeLoo, fourth-ranked Jayd Docken’s 7-3 decision over Brendan Eichmann and Michael Lowman’s 5-2 decision over Corby Running.

The Mavericks head to Marshall, Minn., to take on the Southwest Minnesota State Mustangs on Feb. 4 at 3:30 p.m.

Augustana returns to the Elmen Center on Thursday, Jan. 30, for its final home dual of the 2013-14 season when it hosts Northern State at 7 p.m.

Augustana 30, MSU-Mankato 10
125: TJ North wins by forfeit, AC leads 6-0
133: Morgan Engbrecht pins Trevor Schultz, AC leads 12-0
141: Alphonso Vruno wins 17-9 major decision over Jacob Anderson, AC leads 12-4
149: Shawn Hatlestad pins Jeremy Kelly, AC leads 18-4
157 Adam Cooling wins 11-7 decision over Bradyn Neises, AC leads 18-7
165: Parker Swanson wins 3-1 decision over Sawyer Hoffman, AC leads 21-7
174: Darick Vancura wins 3-2 decision over Jeff Nielsen, AC leads 21-10
184: Sean Derry wins 8-2 decision over Scott VanDeLoo, AC leads 24-10
197: Jayd Docken wins 7-3 decision over Brendan Eichmann, AC leads 27-10
285: Michael Lowman wins 5-2 decision over Corby Running, AC wins 30-10