Minnesota 26 Northwestern 12

No. 2 Gophers Tame Wildcats, 26-12; Nelson loses to McMullan

MINNEAPOLIS – The No. 2 University of Minnesota Golden Gopher wrestling team resumed Big Ten competition with a victory over No. 16 Northwestern on Friday evening. The Golden Gophers improve to 5-0 on the season and 2-0 in the Big Ten.

The Gophers were able to win six of the ten bouts on the evening while claiming two decisions, two major decisions and two falls on the evening.

Minnesota GophersMinnesota started the the dual with a loss at 125 pounds as Jordan Kingsley made his dual debut on the season. Following the loss, Minnesota was able to pick up four victories before Danny Zilverberg was defeated by Northwestern’s Pierce Harger. The Gophers would then drop the next bout as Alec Ortiz stepped in for No. 5 Logan Storley.

Kevin Steinhaus continued his dual success as he was able to win by major decision over Jacob Berkowitz. No. 1 Scott Schiller continued his undefeated season with a pin over Alex Polizzi. Schiller’s record improves to 19-0 on the season.

The most noteworthy moment of the evening came as No. 1 Tony Nelson battled No. 8 Mike McMullan in a rematch of the Big Ten Championship and NCAA Championship from a year ago. Nelson trailed 1-0 going into the third period but was able to grab a point on an escape to tie the score at 1-1 at the end of three. In the first overtime, McMullan was able to takedown Nelson for the sudden victory win. The loss breaks Nelson’s undefeated season streak.

Despite the loss, the Gophers were able to tame the Wildcats and come away with a dual victory.

Minnesota will return to their home mat on Sunday, Jan. 12 to host border rival Wisconsin at 1 p.m. at the Sports Pavilion.

Minnesota 26 Northwestern 12
125 Garrison White (NOR) dec. Jordan Kingsley (MIN) 6-0
133 David Thorn (MIN) maj. dec. Dominick Malone (NOR) 16-5
141 Christopher Dardanes (MIN) dec. Pasquale Greco (NOR) 3-2
149 Nick Dardanes (MIN) dec. Jason Tsirtsis (NOR) 5-3
157 Brandon Kingsley (MIN) pinned Dylan Marriott (NOR) 1:00
165 Pierce Harger (NOR) dec. Daniel Zilverberg (MIN) 7-5
174 Leroy Munster (NOR) dec. Alec Ortiz (MIN) 4-1
184 Kevin Steinhaus (MIN) maj. dec. Jacob Berkowitz (NOR) 14-5
197 Scott Schiller (MIN) pinned Alex Polizzi (NOR) 4:05
285 Michael McMullan (NORT) sv-1 Anthony Nelson (MINN) 3-1

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?