North Dakota State 19, Oregon State 17

NDSU Wrestling Holds Off No. 20 Oregon State, 19-17, Defeat Second Consecutive Ranked Opponent

ORVALLIS, Ore. – Three straight victories in the middle of the lineup helped key a 19-17 victory for the North Dakota State wrestling team over the Oregon State Beavers on Sunday, Jan. 19, at Gill Coliseum.

With the win, the Bison (6-3) have won their last four duals – including two straight against ranked opponents.

NDSU BisonAfter dropping three consecutive weight classes and falling behind to Oregon State 11-9, third-ranked Steven Monk recaptured the lead for the Bison at 165 pounds with a 9-0 major decision over Toney Chay.

Following Monk at 174 pounds, No. 12/13 Hayden Zillmer picked up three points for the Bison, using a takedown in the sudden victory period in overtime to register a 3-1 win over Joe Latham.

NDSU junior Kurtis Julson extended the team lead to 19-11 with a 9-4 decision at 184 pounds.

The Beavers’ 197-pounder, No. 12 Taylor Meeks, earned a 9-2 decision over Tyler Lehmann cutting the deficit to 19-14.

NDSU junior Evan Knutson lost by decision, 10-4, in the final bout of the match against Oregon State’s Amarveer Dhesi – who came into the match ranked No. 18 at 285 pounds – but helped the Bison defeat the Beavers with a two-point margin.

The victory gave NDSU their first in the series against Oregon State, which had won the previous four meetings between the two schools. The Beavers were ranked No. 20 coming into this week in the latest USA Today/NWCA/AWN Division I Coaches Poll and were ranked as high as 11th in the same poll this season.

Monk won his 13th straight match of the season and improved his season record to 20-1.

Hunter Weber earned his seventh pin this season, defeating Joey Palmer in one minute, 12 seconds in the first period. Justin Lavalle earned a 4-2 decision over Drew Van Anrooy at 133 pounds.

The Bison host Air Force in their next dual at 7 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 24, at the Bison Sports Arena.

North Dakota State 19, Oregon State 17
125: Hunter Weber (NDSU) won by pin over Joey Palmer (Oregon State), 1:12
133: Justin LaValle (NDSU) won by decision over Drew Van Anrooy (Oregon State), 4-2
141: Joey Delgado (Oregon State) won by decision over Clay Cathey (NDSU), 9-4
149: Scott Sakaguchi (Oregon State) won by major decision over Tyler Diamond (NDSU), 14-2
157: Roger Pena (Oregon State) won by major decision over Nick Olejnik (NDSU), 15-4
165: Steven Monk (NDSU) won by major decision over Toney Chay (Oregon State), 9-0
174: Hayden Zillmer (NDSU) won in sudden victory 1 over Joe Latham (Oregon State), 3-1
184: Kurtis Julson (NDSU) won by decision over Austin Morehead (Oregon State), 9-4
197: Taylor Meeks (Oregon State) won by decision over Tyler Lehmann (NDSU), 9-2
285: Amarveer Dhesi (Oregon State) won by decision over Evan Knutson (NDSU), 10-4.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?