North Dakota State 27, CSU-Bakersfield 12

Upper Weights Lift NDSU to 27-12 Win at CSU Bakersfield

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. – The North Dakota State University wrestling team earned victories in the final five weight classes to claim a 27-12 victory at CSU Bakersfield on Monday night.

NDSU (4-3) trailed 12-6 through the first five matches of the dual, but the Bison outscored Bakersfield 21-0 over the final five matches to earn the easy 27-12 victory.

NDSU BisonNDSU redshirt freshman Hunter Weber opened the dual with a pin of Matt Correa at 125 pounds, but Bakersfield responded by winning decisions in each of the next four weight classes to take a 12-6 lead.

No. 4-ranked Steven Monk swung things back in NDSU’s favor with an 8-2 decision over David Meza at 165 pounds, and No. 16-ranked Hayden Zillmer followed up with his second straight technical fall at 174 pounds to give the Bison a 14-12 lead.

NDSU junior Kurtis Julson won a 13-4 major decision over Sean Pollock at 184 pounds, and Tyler Lehmann sealed the dual victory for the Bison with his second consecutive fall at 197 pounds, this time pinning Reuben Franklin in just 44 seconds. Junior heavyweight Evan Knutson posted a 2-1 decision for the Bison to close out the dual.

NDSU will return to action when it travels to Boise State for a dual on Friday, Jan. 17.

North Dakota State 27, CSU-Bakersfield 12
125 – Hunter Weber (NDSU) won by pin over Matt Correa (CSU Bakersfield), 4:17.
133 – Jose Mendoza (CSU Bakersfield) won by decision over Justin LaValle (NDSU), 9-4.
141 – Ian Nickell (CSU Bakersfield) won by decision over Clay Cathey (NDSU), 7-4.
149 – Dalton Kelly (CSU Bakersfield) won by decision over Tyler Diamond (NDSU), 9-7 (SV1).
157 – Spencer Hill (CSU Bakersfield) won by decision over Nick Olejnik (NDSU), 3-1.
165 – Steven Monk (NDSU) won by decision over David Meza (CSU Bakersfield), 8-2.
174 – Hayden Zillmer (NDSU) won by tech fall over Jesus Ambriz (CSU Bakersfield), 6:21, 17-0.
184 – Kurtis Julson (NDSU) won by major decision over Sean Pollock (CSU Bakersfield), 13-4.
197 – Tyler Lehmann (NDSU) won by pin over Reuben Franklin (CSU Bakersfield), 0:44.
285 – Evan Knutson (NDSU) won by decision over Sam Cervantes (CSU Bakersfield), 2-1.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?