North Dakota State 28, Northern Colorado 11

NDSU Continues its Dominance in WWC, Bison Defeat Bears 28-11

GREELEY, Colo. – North Dakota State finished off a strong weekend in Western Wrestling Conference action by defeating the Northern Colorado Bears 28-11 on Sunday, Feb. 9, in Greeley, Colo.

The Bison improved to 9-4 in duals this season and are now 3-0 in the WWC.

NDSU BisonNDSU redshirt freshman 141-pounder Clay Cathey and senior 149-pounder Tyler Diamond earned decisions in the first two bouts, giving the Bison a 6-0 lead.

Northern Colorado’s No. 20-ranked Mitchell Polkowske earned a technical fall at 157 pounds, but NDSU’s third-ranked Steven Monk followed with a first period pin over Josh Van Tine. Monk has now won 17 straight matches and has registered three pins in his last five matchups.

Decisions by NDSU redshirt freshman Matt Gray and junior No. 19 Kurtis Julson gave the Bison a 13-point margin heading into 197 pounds, and Tyler Lehmann put the dual out of reach with a pin at the 5:26 mark over Cole Briegel. It was his seventh pin in eight duals he has wrestled for NDSU.

The Bears picked up decisions at heavyweight and 125 pounds, before Bison senior Justin LaValle won by a 15-2 major decision to close out the dual at 133 pounds.

NDSU heads to the NWCA National Duals in Columbus, Ohio, next weekend before returning to the Bison Sports Arena to take on Wyoming on Friday, Feb. 21.

North Dakota State 28, Northern Colorado 11
141: Clay Cathey (NDSU won by decision over Nick Adams (UNC), 12-6
149: Tyler Diamond (NDSU) won by decision over Beau Roberts (UNC), 4-1
157: No. 20 Mitch Polkowske (UNC) won by tech fall over Tanner Carlisle (NDSU), 16-0 (4:34)
165: No. 3 Steven Monk (NDSU) won by pin over Charlie McMartin (UNC), 2:15
174: Matt Gray (NDSU) won by decision over Josh Van Tine (UNC), 8-6
184: No. 19 Kurtis Julson (NDSU) won by decision over Nick Bayer (UNC), 11-4
197: Tyler Lehmann (NDSU) won by pin over Cole Briegel (UNC), 5:26
285: Henry Chriino (UNC) won by decision over John Gusewelle (NDSU), 8-3
125: Trey Andrews (UNC) won by decision over Hunter Weber (NDSU), 4-3
133: Justin LaValle (NDSU) won by major decision over Sonny Espinosa (UNC), 15-2​