North Dakota State 32, South Dakota State 12

Bison Wrestling Steamrolls South Dakota State, 32-12

FARGO, N.D. – The North Dakota State University wrestling team registered two pins and two technical falls to cruise to a 32-12 victory over South Dakota State in Western Wrestling Conference action on Sunday, Feb. 23 at the Bison Sports Arena.

NDSU (11-7, 4-1 WWC) tied Wyoming atop the final league standings with the victory, but the Cowboys will claim the regular season title via head-to-head tiebreaker after their 17-16 win at NDSU on Friday.

NDSU BisonNDSU senior Tyler Diamond opened the dual with an 11-5 decision over No. 33 Alex Kocer at 149 pounds, and after a pin by the Jackrabbits at 157, Steven Monk and Hayden Zillmer registered consecutive technical falls to give the Bison a 13-6 lead. Junior Kurtis Julson notched a 13-3 major decision at 184 pounds for NDSU.

Bison redshirt freshman 197-pounder Tyler Lehmann and junior heavyweight Evan Knutson recorded back-to-back pins to turn a 17-6 NDSU lead into a 29-6 advantage, sealing the dual victory.

Senior Justin LaValle won by 3-1 decision over SDSU’s Brance Simms at 133 pounds, making it a perfect 3-0 mark for the NDSU seniors on Senior Day.

SDSU (6-8, 3-2 WWC) won three matches, including a pin by No. 16-ranked Cody Pack at 157 pounds. The Jackrabbits also earned decisions at 125 and 141 pounds. A dual victory on Sunday would have given SDSU its first Western Wrestling Conference regular season title.

The dual was the final wrestling competition held in the Bison Sports Arena, which will be renovated starting this spring.

NDSU will have one weekend off from competition before traveling to the NCAA West Regional in Orem, Utah, on Mar. 8.

SDSU will next be in action on March 8 in Orem, Utah for the NCAA West Regional/WWC Championships.

North Dakota State 32, South Dakota State 12
149: Tyler Diamond (NDSU) over Alex Kocer (SDSU) – Dec., 11-5 (3-0 NDSU)
157: Cody Pack (SDSU) fall over Tanner Carlisle (NDSU) – Pin, 2:07 (6-3 SDSU)
165: Steven Monk (NDSU) TF over Joe Brewster (SDSU) – Tech., 17-2 (8-6 NDSU)
174: Hayden Zillmer (NDSU) TF over John Nething II (SDSU) – Tech., 16-0 (13-6 NDSU)
184: Kurtis Julson (NDSU) MD over Brady Ayers (SDSU) – Maj., 13-3 (17-6 NDSU)
197: Tyler Lehmann (NDSU) fall over Trey Hable (SDSU) – Pin, 3:30 (23-6 NDSU)
285: Evan Knutson (NDSU) fall over J.J. Everard (SDSU) – 4:06 (29-6 NDSU)
125: Ben Gillette (SDSU) over Hunter Weber (NDSU) – Dec., 6-4 (29-9 NDSU)
133: Justin LaValle (NDSU) over Brance Simms (SDSU) Dec., 3-1 (32-9 NDSU)
141: Eric Orozco (SDSU) over Clayton Cathey (NDSU) – SV-1, 3-1 (32-12 NDSU)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?