Sophomore Trio Leads SJU at North Country Open

COLLEGEVILLE, Minn. – Four Saint John’s wrestlers placed in a tough field at the 2014 North Country Open on Saturday, Feb. 1, in Collegeville.

The 176-man tournament included wrestlers from Augsburg, Concordia-Moorhead, Dickinson State (N.D.), Iowa Lakes C.C., Division I Minnesota, Division II MSU-Mankato, Division I North Dakota State, Pacific (Ore.), Ridgewater, Division II St. Cloud State and Division II Southwest Minnesota State.

Saint John's JohnniesSophomore Ben Henle (Spicer, Minn./New London-Spicer), ranked ninth nationally by, went 3-2 to lead SJU with a third-place finish at 141 pounds.

Sophomore Josh Willaert (Le Sueur, Minn./Le Sueur-Henderson) posted a 4-2 record, including two pins and a technical fall, to take fifth at 184 pounds.

Sophomore Matt Kadrlik (Inver Grove Heights, Minn./Simley) and senior John Scepaniak (Avon, Minn./Holdingford) both went 3-2 to finish fourth and fifth, respectively, at heavyweight.

Matt Pfarr ’12, a two-time All-American for SJU at 174 pounds, won the 197-pound bracket with a 3-0 record. He defeated Augsburg Matt Hechsel, ranked No. 1 by the National Wrestling Coaches’ Association (NWCA), by an 11-5 score in the semifinal. His younger brother, Brett, took first at 184 pounds, and another brother, Chris, went 3-2 at 174 pounds. Both wrestle for Minnesota.

Senior Ryan Arne (Orono, Minn.), ranked No. 10 at 157 pounds by the NWCA, did not compete due to illness.

The Johnnies travel to compete at the Wisconsin-Eau Claire Invitational at 9 a.m. next Saturday, Feb. 8. SJU returns to dual competition with bouts against Wisconsin-Platteville (1 p.m.) and No. 28 Loras of Iowa (3 p.m.) on Sunday, Feb. 9, in Dubuque, Iowa.

North Country Open Results

-Alex Rod (0-2)

-Alex Peck (1-2)

-Evan Guffey (0-2)
-Ben Henle (Third, 3-2)
-Aaron Padrnos (1-2)

-Max Carlin (0-2)
-Joe Hessing (3-2)
-Branden Schorr (0-2)

-Brian McCann (0-2)

-Ochirbat Bayanjargal (1-2)
-Brandon Seppelt (0-2) 174
-Teddy Erickson (1-2)

-Aaron Baker (2-2)
-Glenn Castro (0-2)
-Brock Friesen (2-2)
-Simon Liedtke (0-2)
-Robert Tait (2-2)
-Josh Willaert (Fifth, 4-2)

-Ryan Michaelis (1-1)
-Dino Saracco (0-2)

-Matt Kadrlik (Fourth, 3-2)
-Paul Plombon (2-2)
-John Scepaniak (Fifth, 3-2)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?