St. Cloud State 27, Augustana 12

St. Cloud, Minn. — The #4 St. Cloud State University wrestling team (17-1, 6-0 NSIC) recorded their tenth consecutive victory with a 27-12 win over visiting #17 Augustana College (11-5, 4-2 NSIC) on Friday, Feb. 7 in Halenbeck Hall.

SCSU HuskiesBoth teams battled to start the dual meet as victories were split in the lower weight classes. St. Cloud State opened the night with their first victory at 133-pounds as the Huskies’ Zach Stewart won by tech fall over Augustana’s Morgan Engbrecht. The Vikings battled back to take the 141 match-up as Augustana’s Jeremiah Peterson scored an 8-7 win over Matt Nelson.

The Huskies were able to clinch the next four straight to secure a 21-6 lead with just three remaining matches. Jay Hildreth scored a 4-2 win over Augustana’s Shawn Hatlestad at 149-pounds. Clint Poster earned a 9-0 major decision win over Bradyn Neises at 157-pounds. Gabe Fogarty claimed a pin at 5:39 over Augustana’s Tim Weber, and Clayton Jennissen scored a 6-0 win over Drake Fanslau.

The Vikings won by decision at both 184-pounds and 197-pounds before St. Cloud State’s Austin Goergen finished off the night with a pin at 4:48 over Michael Lowman.

The Vikings return to action on Wednesday, Feb. 12 when they take on Minnesota State Moorhead in Moorhead, Minn. at 7 p.m.

The Huskies will return to action on Thursday, Feb. 13 as they travel to Minnesota State – Mankato for a 7 p.m. dual meet.

#4 St. Cloud State 27, #17 Augustana 12
125- #4 TJ North (Augustana) won by decision over Tanner Johnshoy (St. Cloud State) 4-2.
133- Zach Stewart (St. Cloud State) won by tech fall over Morgan Engbrecht (Augustana) 3:45 15-0.
141- Jeremiah Peterson (Augustana) won by decision over #4 Matt Nelson (St. Cloud State) 8-7.
149- Jay Hildreth (St. Cloud State) won by decision over Shawn Hatlestad (Augustana) 4-2.
157- #5 Clint Poster (St. Cloud State) won by major decision over Bradyn Neises (Augustana) 9-0.
165- #7 Gabe Fogarty (St. Cloud State) won by pin over Tim Weber (Augustana) 5:39
174- Clayton Jennissen (St. Cloud State) won by decision over Drake Fanslau (Augustana) 6-0.
184- Sean Derry (Augustana) won by decision over Dylon Braun (St. Cloud State) 7-3.
197- #5 Jayd Docken (Augustana) won by decision over Chris Brassell (St. Cloud State) 3-2.
285- #3 Austin Goergen (St. Cloud State) won by pin over Michael Lowman (Augustana) 4:48.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?