Three New Teams Crowned MWCA Academic Team Champions

Wabasso/Red Rock Central (A), Dawson-Boyd/LQPV-Montivideo United (AA), and Lakeville North (AAA) Earn Top Honors

by Kip Lynk, MWCA Academic All-State Team Chair

It has been a few years since a new team has cracked the top spot in any of the three classes of the MN Wrestling Coaches’ Association Academic Team competition, but this year all three teams are new. Lakeville North was the top team in Class AAA with a 3.77 team grade point average. Wabasso/Red Rock Central paced the Class A field with a 3.79 grade point average. Dawson-Boyd/LQPV-Montevideo United won the Class AA race and led the entire state with a 3.80 grade point average. All three teams will be awarded banners to hang in their schools.

Each year the MWCA recognizes teams that have a team grade point average of 3.0 or better. Teams take the top 10 grade point averages (g.p.a.) from their 19-man section team roster to submit on their application for the award. Teams that have a 3.0-3.49 team g.p.a. receive a silver plaque, while teams with a 3.50-4.00 g.p.a. earn a gold plaque. This year 51 teams received the silver plaque and another 43 earned the gold plaque. The 94 teams earning plaques in 2014 falls short of the record 103 teams from a year ago. Eighteen of the twenty-four teams that qualified for the state tournament earned an academic team plaque.

Here are all of the schools that earned an MWCA Academic Team Plaque in 2014:

School Plaque
Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City Silver
Adrian Silver
Aitkin Gold
Alexandria Gold
Apple Valley Gold
Becker Gold
Bemidji Gold
Benilde-St. Margaret's Silver
Benson Silver
Blaine Gold
Blue Earth Area Gold
Byron Gold
Cambridge-Isanti Gold
Canby Gold
Centennial Silver
Chatfield Gold
Chisago Lakes Silver
Cretin-Derham Hall Gold
Crookston Gold
Dawson-Boyd/LQPV-Montevideo Gold
Detroit Lakes Gold
Eagan Gold
Eastview Gold
Elk River Gold
Faribault Silver
Fillmore Central/Lanesboro/Mabel Canton Silver
Frazee Silver
Fridley Silver
Goodhue Silver
Grand Rapids Gold
Glencoe-Silver Lake/Lester Prairie Silver
Hastings Gold
Hutchinson-BLHS Gold
Jackson County Central Silver
Kasson-Mantorville Silver
Kenyon Wanamingo Gold
Lake City Silver
Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area Silver
Lakeville North Gold
Lakeville South Silver
Little Falls Silver
Luverne Silver
Maple Grove Silver
Marshall/Lakeview/RTR Silver
Mille Lacs Silver
Minneapolis Southwest Silver
Minnehaha Academy/DeLaSalle Silver
Minneota Gold
Minnewaska Silver
Moorhead Gold
Mound Westonka Gold
Mounds View Silver
New London-Spicer Gold
New York Mills Gold
North Branch Silver
Norwood Young America Gold
Ortonville Silver
Park Silver
Park Rapids Silver
Paynesville Silver
Pelican Rapids Silver
Plainview-Elgin-Millville Gold
Pipestone Area Gold
Prior Lake Silver
Rochester Century Silver
Rochester Mayo Gold
Rosemount Silver
Royalton-Upsala Gold
Scott West Gold
Shakopee Silver
Sibley East Silver
Simley Silver
South St. Paul Silver
St. Cloud Apollo Silver
St. Cloud Tech Silver
St. Croix Lutheran Silver
St. Francis Gold
St. Michael-Albertville Gold
Staples-Motley Silver
Stillwater Silver
Totino-Grace Gold
Trinity School at River Ridge Gold
United North Central Silver
Wabasso/Red Rock Central Gold
Watertown/Mayer Silver
Wayzata Gold
West Central Area/Ashby/Evansville Silver
White Bear Lake Silver
Willmar Silver
Woodbury Gold
Worthington Gold
Zumbrota-Mazeppa Silver
Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed