Dragon’s Monk Named to All-NSIC Second Team

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Minnesota State University Moorhead senior Conner Monk has been named to the All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Second Team in wrestling, the league announced on Thursday.

It is the first all-conference honor for Monk during his Dragon career. He earned the honor in the 174-pound division.

MSU-Moorhead DragonsAccording to the NSIC wrestling all-conference rules, the highest placewinner at the Super Regional 3 Tournament from each weight class shall be named all-conference first team. The second-highest placewinner will be named all-conference second team. Monk placed fourth at 174 at the Super Regional 3 tournament.

Monk, one of two national qualifiers for the Dragons, finished 14-14 this season. He was an impressive 7-1 during NSIC duals at 174, recording four of those wins by fall.

Upper Iowa’s Carl Broghammer was the NSIC Wrestler of the Year, while St. Cloud State’s Austin Goergen was the NSIC Rookie of the Year. Southwest Minnesota State’s Jesse Nelson was the NSIC Coach of the Year.

[eztable caption=”2013-14 NSIC ALL-CONFERENCE FIRST TEAM” width=”700″]
TJ North,125,So.,Augustana,Elk Point S.D.
Justin Reinsma,133,Sr.,SMSU,Slayton Minn.
Jordan Roths,141,Fr.,Upper Iowa,New Hampton Iowa
Edwin Cooper,149,So.,Upper Iowa,Chicago Ill.
Clint Poster,157,So.,St. Cloud State,Pierz Minn.
Kyle Begin,165,So.,SMSU,Anoka Minn.
Jacob Begin,175,Sr.,SMSU,Anoka Minn.
Sean Derry,184,Sr.,Augustana,Omaha Neb.
Carl Broghammer,197,Sr.,Upper Iowa,Manchester Iowa
Austin Goergen,285,Fr.,St. Cloud State,Caledonia Minn.

[eztable caption=”2013-14 NSIC ALL-CONFERENCE SECOND TEAM” width=”700″]
Tanner Johnshoy,125,Fr.,St. Cloud State,Prior Lake Minn.
Matt Paulus,133,So.,Upper Iowa,New Hampton Iowa
Matt Nelson,141,So.,St. Cloud State,Big Lake Minn.
Jay Hildreth,149,Jr.,St. Cloud State,Council Bluffs Iowa
Bradyn Neises,157,Jr.,Augustana,Howard S.D.
Gabe Fogarty,165,So.,St. Cloud State,Jordan Minn.
Conner Monk,174,Jr.,MSU Moorhead,Wausau Wis.
Jayd Docken,197,Jr.,Augustana,Winner S.D.
Cole Wilson,285,Jr.,SMSU,Faribault Minn.