Jacks’ Trio Set for NCAA Championships

South Dakota State will send Alex Kocer (149), Cody Pack (157) and Joe Brewster (165) to the 2014 Division I Wrestling Championships in Oklahoma City, Okla., March 20-22 at Chesapeake Energy Arena.

Kocer, a redshirt fresman, and Brewster, a junior, will both be making their NCAA Championship debuts, while Pack will be making a return trip after qualifying last season. The junior had an 0-2 showing.

SDSU JackrabbitsThere’s a First: 2013-14 marks the first time in school history that three Jackrabbits qualified for the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. Prior to this season, SDSU had never sent more than one.

Who They’ve Got: The first-round matches, which begin on Thursday at 11 a.m., will have the Jacks squared off against a pair of #1 seeds as Kocer and Brewster will face top-seeded Drake Houdashelt (Missouri, 34-1) and David Taylor (Penn State, 29-0), respectively. Pack, who is seeded #15, is matched up against Aaron Walker (Citadel, 30-7).

NCAA West Region/WWC Championship Recap: SDSU placed fifth in the team race with 34.5 points. Individually, Kocer and Pack brought home conference titles, while John Nething II had a runner-up finish.

In the Polls: Pack, a Quincy, Calif., native, is ranked #12 (The Open Mat), #15 (InterMat) and owns the #15 seed entering the championships.

Follow the Action: ESPN will expand its TV and digital coverage of the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships by televising all six sessions and carrying every match on ESPN3, both for the first time. ESPN will televise the semifinals and championship finals while ESPNU will air the preliminary sessions and medal round. The entire tournament will be available on WatchESPN. For up-to-date results on the Jackrabbit trio, follow @SDSUwrestling on Twitter and use #getjacked #d1wrestle.

Program History: 2013-14 is the 65th season of Jackrabbit wrestling. SDSU owns a 507-351-22 (.589) program record. Chris Bono is the 12th coach in Jackrabbit history and owns a 50-37 career (.575). SDSU has won six conference championships, with the last coming in 1996-97. Two Jackrabbits have claimed All-American honors at the D-I championships, as Greg Schmidt did so in 1970 and Pat Dorn in 1988.

College Tournament Time