NDSU Tops WWC with Eight All-Conference Honors

OREM, Utah — The Western Wrestling Conference announced its All-Conference teams for the 2013-14 season on Monday, March 17. North Dakota State led the way with eight of its wrestlers being named all-conference.

NDSU and Wyoming led the way with three first team honorees apiece while the Jackrabbits had two. Air Force, Utah Valley and Wyoming were next as they all had six of their wrestlers make the cut.

NDSU BisonIndividuals earned spots on the respective teams with their finishes at the 2014 NCAA West Regional/WWC Championships on March 8 in Orem, Utah. All six league schools competed at the Regional.

Two defending West Regional individual champions successfully retained their titles and earned First Team All-WWC honors, as North Dakota State’s Steven Monk (165 pounds) and Wyoming’s Shane Woods (197) both accomplished that feat.

Six of the 10 members named to the first team were repeat winners from one of the three all-conference squads in years past. The only newcomers to earn first team accolades were Air Force’s Greg Rinker (133), South Dakota State’s Alex Kocer (149), North Dakota State’s Hayden Zillmer (174) and Wyoming’s Benjamin Stroh (184).

NDSU’s Monk was named all-conference for the fourth time in his career, as he was named second team in 2010-11 and first team for each of the past three seasons.

Nineteen of these 30 wrestlers have qualified this weekend’s NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships and will represent the WWC in Oklahoma City, Okla.

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of six schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming.

125: Tyler Cox (WYO), Jr., Gillette, Wyo. (Campbell County HS)*
133: Greg Rinker (AFA), Sr., Northampton, Pa. (Northampton HS)*
141: Avery Garner (UVU), Sr., Boise, Idaho (Centennial HS)**
149: Alex Kocer (SDSU), RFr., Wagner, S.D. (Wagner HS)
157: Cody Pack (SDSU), Jr., Quincy, Calif. (Quincy HS)*
165: Steven Monk (NDSU), Sr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)***
174: Hayden Zillmer (NDSU), So., Crosby, Minn. (Crosby Ironton HS)
184: Benjamin Stroh (WYO), RFr., Harlem, Mont. (Chinook HS)
197: Shane Woods (WYO), Jr., Tuttle, Okla. (Tuttle HS)*
285: Evan Knutson (NDSU), Jr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)**

125: Josh Martinez (AFA), So., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Pine Creek HS)*
133: Justin LaValle (NDSU), Sr., West Fargo, N.D. (West Fargo HS)
141: Cole Mendenhall (WYO), RFr., Great Falls, Mont. (Great Falls HS)
149: Natrelle Demison (AFA), Fr., Bakersfield, Calif. (Bakersfield HS)
157: Andy McCulley (WYO), Jr., Rock Springs, Wyo. (Rock Springs HS)*
165: Dakota Friesth (WYO), Jr., Adel, Iowa (Adel-DeSota-Minburn)*
174: John Nething II (SDSU), Jr., Paynesville, Minn. (New London-Spicer HS)
184: Kurtis Julson (NDSU), Jr., Inner Grove Heights, Minn. (Simley HS)*
197: Tyler Lehmann (NDSU), RFr., Fargo, N.D. (West Fargo HS)
285: Adam Fager (UVU), Jr., Layton, Utah (Layton HS)*

125: Jade Rauser (UVU), So., Townsend, Mont. (Broadwater HS)
133: Chasen Tolbert (UVU), So., Delta, Utah (Delta HS)*
141: Clay Cathey (NDSU), RFr., Billings, Mont. (Skyview HS)
149: Tyler Diamond (NDSU), Sr., Oroville, Calif. (Oroville HS)
157: Josh Kreimier (AFA), Sr., Fort Collins, Colo. (Loveland HS)**
165: Curtis Abner Cook (UVU), Sr., Pocatello, Idaho (Pocatello HS)*
174: Konner Witt (AFA), So., Oak Harbor, Ohio (Oak Harbor HS)
184: Devin HIghtower (AFA), Sr., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Widefield HS)*
197: Derek Thomas (UVU), So., Layton, Utah (Layton HS)
285: Henry Chirino (UNC), Jr., Brandon, Fla. (Brandon HS)

* Denotes two-time all-conference honoree
** Denotes three-time all-conference honoree
*** Denotes four-time all-conference honoree

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?