U.S. to face India in freestyle dual at NCAA Championships Fan Festival, Thursday, March 20

USA Wrestling will be hosting an international dual meet between the United States and India in men’s freestyle wrestling as part of the NCAA Fan Festival on Thursday, March 20. The dual meet will start at approximately 3:00 p.m. after Session I of the NCAA Div. I Wrestling Championships.

The match will be part of the NCAA Fan Festival, and will held at the Cox Convention Center, which is adjacent to the Chesapeake Energy Center. As always, the USA Wrestling exhibition featuring the USA vs. India will be provided free of charge to wrestling fans who are attending the championships.

usa-wrestlingTeam USA will be led by eight different former college wrestling stars, all which are pursuing their Olympic dreams in men’s freestyle wrestling.

Past NCAA champions on the U.S. team are Jon Reader at 86 kg/189 lbs., who won an NCAA title for Iowa State, Dustin Kilgore at 97 kg/213 lbs., who was Kent State’s first NCAA champion, and Tyrell Fortune at 125 kg/275 lbs., who won an NCAA Div. II national title for Grand Canyon.

The rest of the USA team comes from strong Div. I programs. Boise State is represented by alums Andrew Hochstrasser (57 kg/125 lbs.) and Jason Chamberlain (65 kg/143 lbs). B.J. Futrell (61 kg/134 lbs.), who wrestled for Illinois and Moza Fay (74 kg/163 lbs.), who wrestled for Northern Iowa, round out the USA team. The 70 kg spot is currently being determined.

India is one of the world’s top freestyle nations, placing a strong sixth at the 2013 World Championships in Budapest, Hungary. India was also sixth at the 2014 Freestyle World Cup in Los Angeles this past weekend.

The India team will be led by 2103 World bronze medalist Amit Kumar at 57 kg/125 lbs., who was 10th at the 2012 Olympic Games. Three 2013 Commonwealth Championships gold medalists are also on India’s team: Parveen Rama at 74 kg/163 lbs. A 2013 Commonwealth champion, Rama was a Junior World bronze medalist in 2011.

Two other 2013 Commonwealth champion, who also wrestled at the 2013 World Championships, are on India’s team, Pawan Kumar at 86 kg/189 lbs. and Saywart Kadian at 97 kg/213 lbs.

The USA Wrestling exhibitions held alongside the NCAA Wrestling Championships has become a tradition within the wrestling community as well as a fan favorite.

In recent years, USA Wrestling hosted a Big Ten vs. Big 12 Challenge in 2010 in Omaha, a USA vs. International Team match in 2011 in Philadelphia, a USA Wrestling National Team All-Star Dual in 2012 in St. Louis and live Team USA simulation matches during an open practice in 2013 in Des Moines.

Fans can also watch Team USA wrestling practices between sessions on Friday and Saturday during the Fan Festival. A special Team USA autograph session is also set for 3:30 p.m. on Friday, on the Fan Festival Stage.

At NCAA Fan Fest, Oklahoma City, Okla., March 20

Team USA Roster
57 kg/125 lbs. – Andrew Hochstrasser, Boise, Idaho (Titan Mercury WC), Boise State alum
61 kg/134 lbs. – B.J. Futrell, Ann Arbor, Mich. (New York AC/Michigan RTC), Illinois alum
65 kg/143 lbs. – Jason Chamberlain, Lincoln, Neb. (Sunkist Kids/Nebraska RTC), Boise State alum
70 kg/154 lbs. – To be announced
74 kg/163 lbs. – Moza Fay, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Army WCAP/USOTC), Northern Iowa alum
86 kg/189 lbs. – Jon Reader, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids/USOTC), Iowa State alum
97 kg/213 lbs. – Dustin Kilgore, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids/USOTC), Kent State alum
125 kg/275 lbs. – Tyrell Fortune, Portland, Ore. (Titan Mercury WC), Grand Canyon alum
National Freestyle Coach – Zeke Jones, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Coach – Tom Erikson, W. Lafayette, Ind.

Team India Roster
57 kg/125 lbs. – Amit Kumar
61 kg/134 lbs. – Bajrang
65 kg/143 lbs. – Rajneesh
70 kg/154 lbs. – Amit Kumar Dhankhar
74 kg/163 lbs. – Parveen Rana
86 kg/189 lbs. – Pawan Kumar
97 kg/213 lbs. – Saywart Kadian
125 kg/275 lbs. – Krishan Kumar
Team Leader – Kuldeep Singh Rana; Coaches – Vinod Kumar, Anil Kumar, Anil Maan; Referee – Satya Dev Malik; Doctor – Dr. Vijay; Masseur: Rahul Sharma; Official – Deva Nand