St. Cloud State Announces Team Award Winners

Sophomore Clint Poster (Pierz, Minn.) was recognzied as the Dean Weisman Wrestler of the Year for 2014 at the St. Cloud State University wrestling team’s award banquet, which was held at the St. Cloud Holiday Inn on Friday, April 4 in St. Cloud, Minn.

A two-time All-American for the Huskies, Poster captured third place in the 157-pound bracket at the 2014 NCAA Division II wrestling championships. He charted an impressive 33-8 record in 2013-14, which included eight pins and a second place finish at 157-pounds at the 2014 NCAA Division II Super Region 3 tournament.

SCSU HuskiesPoster was one of many Huskies saluted at the awards banquet, which took a look back at another successful season in 2013-14. The Huskies placed sixth at the 2014 NCAA Division II championships, third at the 2014 NCAA Division II Super 3 Regional tournament and third at the 2014 NWCA Division II National Duals.

The Huskies won their third consecutive NSIC regular season title with an 8-0 record and also posted a 19-1 overall dual record. SCSU set a new NCAA Division II record by winning 54 consecutive dual meets in 2013-14, and the Huskies just completed their third consecutive season without a loss in NSIC competition.
Neil Jennissen

The banquet also honored two former Huskies. John Barrett, class of 1986, was the recipient of the “Jack Gause” Husky Wrestling Hall of Fame Award for 2014; and Neil Jennissen, class of 1987, received the Alumni Achievement Award.

Barrett was a three-time All-American for the Huskies in 1983, 1884 and 1986. He also won NCC championships and was named the Dean Weisman Award winner for the Huskies in 1983, 1984 and 1986. Barrett is a resident of Annandale, Minn.

Jennissen wrestled for two seasons at SCSU in the 1980s and is the long-time wrestling coach at Cambridge-Isanti High School. His son Clayton Jennissen was a national qualifier for the Huskies in 2013-14.

The following is a list of the other team award winners for the 2013-14 wrestling season at SCSU:

Most Improved Award: Jay Hildreth
Jim and Dave Hazewinkel Tough Man of the Year Award: Clayton Jennissen
Iron Man of the Year Award: Austin Goergen, Clayton Jennissen Tanner Johnshoy, Clint Poster
Jim Sundgren Most Courageous Award: Zach Stewart and Matt Nelson
SCSU Wrestling Buzz Saw Award: Austin Goergen
Red-Shirt Wrestler of the Year Award: Alex Anaya, Jarred Oftedahl, Taner Trembley
Newcomer of the Year Award: Mike Rhone
Captain Award: Chris Brassell, Josh Howk, Andy Pokorny, Clint Poster
Scholar of the Year Award: Ben McPhail
NSIC All-Academic: Chris Brassell, Trent Herold, Brady Johnshoy, Ben McPhail, Clint Poster, Cody Tibbetts
NCAA DII All-Academic Award: Lucas Belich, Josh Berg, Chris Brassell, Brady Johnshoy, Tyler Mathison, Ben McPhail, Clint Poster, Zach Stewart and Cody Tibbetts
NSIC All-Conference: Clint Poster (1st), Austin Goergen (1st), Tanner Johnshoy (2nd), Matt Nelson (2nd), Jay Hildreth (2nd), Gabe Fogarty (2nd).
NSIC Rookie of the Year: Austin Goergen
20 Match Award Winners: Jay Hildreth (21), Clayton Jennissen (24) and Jarred Oftedahl (20)
25 Match Award Winner: Tanner Johnshoy (27)
30 Match Award Winner: Clint Poster (33)
35 Match Award Winner: Austin Goergen (35)
Most Falls Award: Austin Goergen (19)
Husky Appreciation Award: Alexa Dusek, Brad Hildreth, Katy Leppa, Tom Nelson, Kaitlyn Ogren, John O. Peterson, Dennis Quinn.
Coaching Appreciation Award: Trent Herold, Cullan Morrissey, Shamus O’Grady, John A. Peterson and Brady Wilson
Fan of the Year: JoAnn Hildreth
Alumni Achievement Award: Neil Jennissen
Jack Gause Husky Wrestling Hall of Fame: John Barrett

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.