No. 1 Minnesota Opens With Seven Titles

Gopher Wrestling started its 2014-15 campaign by claiming seven titles at the Bison Open in Fargo, N.D. on Saturday. At least one Gopher competed in the title match at all 10 weight classes.

Four Gophers successfully defended titles from last year: Chris Dardanes (who won at 141 last year but took the 133 crown this year), Nick Dardanes (who won at 149 last year but captured the 141 title this year), Dylan Ness at 157 and Logan Storley at 174.

Minnesota GophersIn two cases, those title defenses stretched beyond last year. Storley’s title at 174 was his third-straight at the Bison Open. For Nick Dardanes, the 141 championship caps a four-year run as a champion at the Bison Open (141 champ in `11 and ’12, 149 in ’13 and 141 again this year).

At 125, 149 and 165, the final match pitted Gopher against Gopher. In the 125 final, Sam Brancale defeated Skyler Petry 4-1. At 149, Jake Short defeated Seth Lange, 7-3, while Nick Wanzek defeated Brandon Kingsley, 4-3, at 165. With their victories, Brancale and Short improved upon second-place finishes at last year’s Bison Open, while Wanzek outperformed his third-place finish last year.

This was the 44th annual Bison Open, which is hosted by North Dakota State and regularly features teams from throughout Minnesota and the Dakotas.

Next up for the Gophers are a pair of duals on the road next Saturday (Nov. 15). The first will be at the Air Force Academy at 11:00 a.m. CT. The second will be at Wyoming at 6:30 p.m. CT. Be sure to follow Gopher Wrestling on Facebook and Twitter and regularly check at to keep up with the latest news around the program.

Bison Open results