Augustana 39 Morningside 3

Vikings take down Morningside College on the road, 39-3

SIOUX CITY, Iowa – No. 16-ranked Augustana took down Morningside College Friday evening by the score of 39-3. The Vikings record improved to 3-1 on the season, while the Mustangs record dropped to 1-1.

Ranked first in the 125-pound class, TJ North won by a technical fall of 17-2 over Cole Mills to put the Vikings on the board early, 5-0. David Potratz (133-pounds) followed North’s performance winning by a decision of 10-6 over Alex Schmitz.

Augustana VikingsIn the 141-pound bout, Jeremiah Peterson continued to push Augustana’s lead with a 16-1 technical fall over Cody Cline. In the 149-pound division, Jacob Anderson edged out his opponent winning in a 5-3 decision, the Vikings built a 16-0 lead.

Shawn Hatlestad (157-pounds) kept the momentum on Augustana’s side winning with a major decision of 11-0 over Nate Taylor, the Vikings lead jumped ahead to 20-0.

Matched up at 165-pounds Parker Swanson battled Freddie Czarke winning by a 6-1 decision to push the Augustana’s lead to 23-0. With the win, Swanson’s record improved to 5-0 on the season.

Logan Henning (174-pounds) pinned Marcus Nelson in 0:45 to push the Vikings biggest lead to 29-0. Morningside’s Rulin Pederson put the Mustangs on the board at the 184-pound bout winning 10-8 in overtime.

Augustana still had control of the dual leading 29-3 to head into the two final bouts.

Jeff Nielsen and Michael Lowman closed-out with two big victories for the Vikings. Nielsen pinned Barrett Hamilton in 2:34, while Lowman capped off by winning a major decision of 12-3 over Chris Bridgeford to produce the final score of 39-3 in favor of Augustana.

The Vikings travel to Chadron, Neb. next Saturday, Dec. 20 to face-off with Hastings at 1:45 p.m., followed by Chadron State at 3:30 p.m.

Augustana 39 Morningside 3
125: TJ North won by tech fall (17-2) over Cole Mills, AC 5, MC 0
133: David Potratz won by decision (10-6) over Alex Schmitz, AC 8, MC 0
141: Jeremiah Peterson won by tech fall (16-1) over Cody Cline, AC 13, MC 0
149: Jacob Anderson won by decision (5-3) over Steven Garcia, AC 16, MC 0
157: Shawn Hatlestad won by major decision (11-0) over Nate Taylor, AC 20, MC 0
165: Parker Swanson won by decision (6-1) over Freddie Czarske, AC 23, MC 0
174: Logan Henning won by fall (0:45) over Marcus Nelson, AC 29, MC 0
184: Rulin Pederson won by decision (10-8) in O.T. over Aero Amo, AC 29, MC 3
197: Jeff Nielsen won by fall (2:34) over Barrett Hamilton, AC 35, MC 3
285: Michael Lowman won by major decision (12-3) over Chris Bridgeford, AC 39, MC 3

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?