Augustana 38, Southwest Minnesota State 6

MARSHALL, Minn. – The 17th-ranked Augustana College wrestling team (14-4, 3-0 NSIC) took down Southwest Minnesota State (5-6, 0-2 NSIC) by a score of 38-6 on Saturday night, behind two pin victories.

Augustana got off to a fast start with TJ North dominating most of the 125 bout over the Mustang’s Taylor Curtis with a major decision of 10-2. Morgan Engbrecht followed North’s performance, with a 7-3 decision over Landyn VanOverbeke to push the Vikings ahead 7-0.

Augustana VikingsFourth-ranked Jeremiah Peterson continued Augustana’s momentum with a 13-3 major decision over Trent Butcher. In the 149-pound bout, Jacob Anderson won by a technical fall of 19-3 over Jake Slocum to push ahead 16-0.

At 157, Shawn Hatlestad defeated the Mustang’s Patrick Kelley via decision, 6-3, Augustana moved ahead 19-0.

Southwest Minnesota State got on the scoreboard with Jacob Begin winning by pin at the 165-pound bout to only trail the Vikings 19-6.

Augustana responded by taking the next two bouts via pins starting with Logan Henning (174 pounds) pinning Colton Vekved in 4:24, followed by Aero Amo (184 pounds) pinning Broderick Goens in 31 seconds. Augustana jumped ahead 31-6 to head into the final two bouts.

Senior Jayd Docken, ranked fifth in NCAA Division II, also secured points for the Vikings at the 197-pound bout. Docken defeated Ashton Barlett by a major decision score of 16-2. In the heavyweight bout, Michael Lowman cemented the Augustana victory of 38-6 with a 2-1 decision over Cole Wilson in the dual finale.

Southwest Minnesota State will travel to Kearney, Neb., on Saturday for the Midwest Duals where they will face Colorado State-Pueblo, Central Missouri, Colorado School of Mines and Colorado Mesa.

The Vikings will be back in action next Thursday at 7 p.m. as they take on Minnesota State in the Elmen Center.

Augustana 38, Southwest Minnesota State 6
125: No. 1 TJ North won by major decision (10-2) over Taylor Curtis; AC 4, SMSU 0
133: Morgan Engbrecht won by decision (6-3) over Landyn VanOverbeke; AC 7, SMSU 0
141: No. 4 Jeremiah Peterson won by major decision (13-3) over Trent Butcher; AC 11, SMSU 0
149: Jacob Anderson won by technical fall (19-3) over Jake Slocum; AC 16, SMSU 0
157: Shawn Hatlestad won by decision (6-3) over Patrick Kelley; AC 19, SMSU 0
165: Jacob Begin pinned Parker Swanson in 2:45; AC 19, SMSU 6
174: Logan Henning pinned Colton Vekved in 4:24; AC 25, SMSU 6
184: Aero Amo pinned Broderick Goens in 0:31; AC 31, SMSU 6
197: No. 5 Jayd Docken won by major decision (16-2) over Ashton Bartlett; AC 35, SMSU 6
285: Michael Lowman won by decision (2-1) over Cole Wilson; AC 38, SMSU 6

View more college results

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?