MSU-Moorhead 49, Simon Fraser 0

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. — The Minnesota State University Moorhead wrestling team rolled to a 49-0 win over Simon Fraser in nonconference wrestling action Friday in San Francisco, Calif. The Dragons won one match by fall and two by technical fall on their way to the win.7174

It is the first time MSUM (4-4 duals) has shut out an opponent in a dual since Nov. 14, 2013 when the Dragons blanked Jamestown, 41-0.

MSU-Moorhead DragonsSenior Shawn Porter earned a win by fall for MSUM to improve to 11-8 on the year, while junior Chris Bascon and sophomore Garret Hoffner each won by technical fall.

The dual started at 149 pounds where Dragon sophomore Isaac Novacek edged Kenji Yamashita to give MSUM an 11-9 lead.

Hoffner then added to the Dragon advantage with a 17-1 technical fall win over Victor Kwan at 157 pounds to make it 8-0. The Dragons won by forfeit at 165 to push the advantage to 14-0.

Senior Michael Joseph (12-6) won a hard-fought 7-4 match over Simon Fraser’s Morgan Smith at 174 to stretch the MSUM lead to 17-0.

Porter picked up the pin at 184 in 4:42 over Josh Kim to make it 23-0, and Bascon was impressive in a 16-0 technical fall win over Ben Smyth at 197 as the Dragons built an insurmountable 28-0 lead.

Sophomore Nader Abdullatif won at 285 for MSUM, taking a 5-1 decision to improve to 11-9 on the season.

MSUM won the final three matches (125, 133 and 141) by forfeit to secure the 49-0 win.

The Dragons will wrestle at the 39th annual California Collegiate Open on Saturday beginning at 11 am. Central time. The teams participating in this year’s Collegiate will be Cal Baptist, Cal State Bakersfield, MSUM, Cal Poly, Stanford, Arizona State, Simon Fraser, Boise State, Oregon State and Southern Oregon.

Note: Four members of the Dragons’ lineup on Friday — Abdullatif, Porter, Bascon and Joseph — were wrestling in their home state of California.

MSU-Moorhead 49, Simon Fraser 0
149-Isaac Novacek (MSUM) dec. Kenji Yamashita, 11-9
157-Garret Hoffner (MSUM) tech. fall Victor Kwan, 17-1
165-Dan Murakami (MSUM) won by forfeit
174-Michael Joseph (MSUM) dec. Morgan Smith, 7-4
184-Shawn Porter (MSUM) pinned Josh Kim, 4:42
197-Chris Bascon (MSUM) tech. fall Ben Smyth, 16-0
285-Nader Abdullatif (MSUM) dec. Sean Molle, 5-1
125-Shane Novak (MSUM) won by forfeit
133-Blake Bosch (MSUM) won by forfeit
141-Philippe Walker (MSUM) won by forfeit

View more college results

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?