Augustana 38, Minot State 9

No. 17 Augustana wrestling rolls past Minot State, 38-9

MINOT, N.D. – No. 17 Augustana College wrestling (16-4, 5-0 NSIC) defeated Minot State (5-13, 2-5 NSIC) 38-9 on Saturday night. The Vikings winning efforts were propelled by eight bout victories, including three pins.

The match started at the 174-pound bout, where Minot State’s Jon Wilson earned a pin to put the Beavers on the scoreboard first, 6-0. At 184, Aero Amo recorded his fourth straight pin in the first period over Kobina Henriques to tie the dual 6-6.

Augustana VikingsFifth-ranked Jayd Docken followed Amo’s efforts pinning Taylor Barstad of MSU in 3:24 at the 197-pound bout. Minot State’s Mitchell Eull won by a decision of 6-0 in the heavyweight bout.

Javier Vieyra started the winning streak for Augustana collecting a 17-0 technical fall over Anthony Battle at the 125-pound bout. The Vikings gave no room for the Beavers to earn points taking the final five matches.

Up next for Augustana was Morgan Engbrecht at the 133 pound bout pinning Jason Huger in 1:48 to put the Vikings ahead 23-9. No. 4 Jeremiah Peterson gave no room for MSU’s Tanner Crissler, Peterson won by a technical fall of 17-1.

Jacob Anderson defeated Minot State’s Cody Haugen via 8-0 major decision in the 149-pound bout. Bradyn Neises (157 pounds) and Shawn Hatlestad (165 pounds) also notched victories for Augustana at their respective weight classes. Neises won by a 5-4 decision over Ricards Avakovs, followed by Hatlestad closing the door on the Beavers with a decision of 7-1 over Devin Combs to push the score to 38-9 in favor of the Vikings.

Augustana now travels to Bismarck, N.D. to wrestle against U-Mary Sunday, Jan. 8. First match is scheduled for 2 p.m.

Augustana 38, Minot State 9
174: Jon Wilson pinned Tim Weber in 6:32; AC 0, Minot 6
184: Aero Amo pinned Kobina Henriques in 1:12; AC 6, Minot 6
197: #5 Jayd Docken pinned Taylor Barstad in 3:24; AC 12, Minot 6
285: Mitchell Eull won by a decision (6-0) over Lane Lettau; AC 12, Minot 9
125: Javier Vieyra won by technical fall (17-0) over Anthony Battle; AC 17, Minot 9
133: Morgan Engbrecht pinned Jason Huger in 1:48; AC 23, Minot 9
141: #4 Jeremiah Peterson won by technical fall (17-1) over Tanner Crissler; AC 28, Minot 9
149: Jacob Anderson won by major decision (8-0) over Cody Haugen; AC 32; Minot 9
157: Bradyn Neises won by decision (5-4) over Ricards Avakovs; AC 35, Minot 9
165: Shawn Hatlestad won by a decision (7-1) over Devin Combs, AC 38, Minot 9

View more college results

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?