Augustana 40, U-Mary 6

No. 17 Augustana wrestling takes down U-Mary, 40-6

BISMARCK, N.D. – On the back of three pins, No. 17 Augustana College wrestling (17-4, 6-0 NSIC) continues their Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference dual season with a 40-6 win over the University of Mary. The Vikings were spotted a big lead with U-Mary (1-13, 0-5 NSIC) taking nine of the 10 bouts.

Once again, TJ North started Augustana off with a forfeit victory at the 125-pound bout. Morgan Engbrecht (133 pounds) raced out to a lead after the first period and eventually broke through with a 6-2 decision over Hunter Menendez.

Augustana VikingsAustin Jordan (141 pounds) pinned Michael Rivera in 1:37 to push the Vikings lead to 15-0, followed by Brandon Chesnut winning a 10-3 decision over Dane Fischer at the 149-pound match. At 157, Shawn Hatlestad dominated the match against Paul Michaelson winning by a 6-1 decision.

After intermission, Augustana recorded two back-to-back pins from Parker Swanson and Tim Weber pinning their opponents at the 165- and 174-pound bouts. Swanson pinned Riley Nagel in 4:58, followed by Weber taking down Jered Keller in 1:29. The Vikings jumped ahead 36-0 with Aero Amo winning a 3-2 decision win at 184 pounds.

Matched up a 197 pounds No. 5 Jayd Docken battled against Tom DeVito, with Docken going 2-0 on the season against DeVito recording a major decision of 12-3. The University of Mary’s Jonah Westbury won by forfeit in the heavyweight bout, pushing the final score to 40-6 in favor of Augustana.

The Vikings returns to action on Thursday, Feb. 12 as they host No. 10 Upper Iowa at 7 p.m. in the Elmen Center.

#17 Augustana 40, U-Mary 6
125: #1 TJ North won by forfeit over OPEN; AC 6, UMary 0
133: Morgan Engbrecht won by decision (6-2) over Hunter Menendez AC 9, UMary 0
141: Austin Jordan pinned Michael Rivera in 1:37; AC 15, UMary 0
149: Brandon Chesnut won by decision (9-3) over Dane Fischer; AC 18, UMary 0
157: Shawn Hatlestad won by decision (6-1) over Paul Michaelson; AC 21, UMary 0
165: Parker Swanson pinned Riley Nagel in 4:58, AC 27, UMary 0
174: Tim Weber pinned Jered Keller in 1:29; AC 33, UMary 0
184: Aero Amo won by a decision (3-2) over John Devito; AC 36, UMary 0
197: #5 Jayd Docken won by major decision (12-3) over Tom DeVito; AC 40, UMary 0
285: Jonah Westbury won by forfeit over OPEN; AC 40, UMary 6

View more college results

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?