Gopher Wrestling Hands Out Year-End Awards

Annual banquet wraps up the 2014-15 season and honors the accomplishments of this season’s team

Gopher Wrestling celebrated the 2014-15 season and the careers of its departing seniors on Sunday night at the team’s annual banquet in Minneapolis.

Emceed by Volunteer Assistant Coach Jayson Ness, the banquet included a year-end review from Head Assistant Coach Brandon Eggum, an address about the senior class from Head Coach J Robinson, speeches from 10 senior wrestlers and a collection of team awards presented by the Minnesota coaching staff. A group of six underclassmen also received the once-in-a-lifetime honor of putting on the “M” for the very first time as first-year letterwinners.

Minnesota Gophers

Below is a full list of the awards presented during Sunday’s banquet.

  • “M” Club First Year Awards: Jordan Bremer, Ethan Lizak, Chris Pfarr, Jordon Rothers, Jake Short, Nick Wanzek
  • Freshman Academic Award: Tijani Karaborni
  • Upperclassman Academic Award: Michael Kroells
  • Fraser Dean Most Courageous Wrestler Award: Chris Dardanes
  • Verne Gange Scholarship/Leadership Award: Scott Schiller
  • Intensity Award: Nick Dardanes
  • Most Exciting Wrestler Award: Logan Storley
  • Freshman of the Year Award: Ethan Lizak
  • Most Valuable Wrestler Award: Dylan Ness
  • Most Falls Award: Dylan Ness
  • Most Dedicated Wrestler Award: Brett Pfarr
  • Chris Berglin Most Improved Wrestler Award: Michael Kroells
  • All-Americans: Chris Dardanes, Michael Kroells, Dylan Ness, Scott Schiller, Logan Storley

With its season now ceremoniously completed, Gopher Wrestling moves into the offseason to prepare for the 2015-16 campaign. To stay updated on everything happening as the team heads into next season, follow Gopher Wrestling on Facebook and Twitter.

View More College News

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.