NDSU Announces Additions to Program

FARGO, N.D.–North Dakota State University head coach Roger Kish announced today that 15 student-athletes will attend NDSU and join the Bison wrestling program in the fall of 2015.

The incoming group (in alphabetical order) includes:
Alex Bleeker, projected 184-197 pounds, Pekin, Ill. (Pekin H.S.)
Wyatt Becker, projected 125-133 Greenbush, Minn. (Greenbush H.S.)
Nico Colunga, projected 125-133, Oakdale, Calif. (Oakdale H.S.)
Cordell Eaton, projected 197, Long Grove, Iowa (North Scott H.S.)
Vincent Feola, projected 285, Huntington Station, N.Y. (Walt Whitman H.S.)
David Flynn, projected 133-141, Belle Plaine, Minn. (Scott West H.S.)
Andrew Fogarty, projected 165, Belle Plaine, Minn. (Scott West H.S.)
Carson Hagen, projected 197, Worthington, Minn. (Worthington H.S.)
Tyler Harrington, projected 174-184, Lincolnshire, Ill. (Stevenson H.S.)
Nick Mergen, projected 149, Albany, Minn. (Albany H.S.)
Carter Nielsen, projected 174, Foley, Minn. (Foley H.S.)
Matt Njos, projected 157-165, Anoka, Minn. (Anoka H.S.)
Arthur Payne, projected 125, Montrose, Mich. (Montrose H.S.)
Dan Stibral, projected 285, Scotland, S.D. (Bon Homme H.S.)
Jon Zeidler, projected 285, Lakeville, Minn. (Lakeville South H.S.)

NDSU BisonThis wrestling class represents all 10 weight divisions. The student-athletes come from seven different states — Minnesota (8), Illinois (2), California (1), Iowa (1), New York (1), Michigan (1) and South Dakota (1).

Kish, who completed his fourth season, led North Dakota State to the program’s second straight NCAA West Region championship and second Western Wrestling Conference regular-season dual title this winter. The Bison were 5-0 in the WWC and 9-4 overall including a 22-21 win by criteria over No. 18-ranked Wyoming. NDSU finished the season ranked 20th in the final USA Today/NWCA Division I Coaches Poll.

North Dakota State had five NCAA West Region champions — 125 Josh Rodriguez (voted the MVP of the regional), 141 Mitch Bengtson, 149 Clay Ream (WWC Freshman of the Year), 174 Kurtis Julson and 184 Hayden Zillmer (WWC Wrestler of the Year). NDSU qualified a school-record six wrestlers, with 285 Evan Knutson joining the five above, for the NCAA Championships. Julson and Zillmer both earned NCAA All-American honors.

View More College News

More College Recruiting News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?