Eight inducted into the 2015 Bartelma Minnesota Wrestling Hall of Fame

Benson, Minn. – Eight new members were inducted into the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) Dave Bartelma Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 2nd in Benson, Minnesota.

The new inductees honored were Dave Cummings, Jay Johnson, Chris Lembeck, Jeff Mergen, Corey Olson, Gary Pelcl, Mick Rose, and Ivan Zastrow. Many past Hall of Fame inductees were in attendance.

MWCA Mr. Wrestler selection Lance Benick of Totino-Grace received a plaque for personal use and a traveling plaque for his school.

MWCA Coach of the Year honorees were Joel Skillings of Minneota – Class A, Larry Goodnature of Albert Lea – Class AA, and co-coaches Chad Olson and Henry Gerten of Farmington – Class AAA.

The MWCA selected Joel Skillings as State Head Coach of the Year. Selected as State Assistant Coach of the Year was Greg Dravis of Eastview. Skillings and Dravis, along with MWCA Mr. Wrestler selection Lance Benick represent Minnesota as The National Wrestling Coaches Association’s State (NWCA) award winners, which qualifies them for further NWCA honors at the Regional and National levels.

The MWCA presented State Champion and State Runners-up awards based on the unofficial individual state tournament scoring to: Class A – 1st Jackson County Central, 2nd Frazee; Class AA – 1st Kasson-Mantorville, 2nd Scott West; Class AAA – 1st St. Michael-Albertville, 2nd Apple Valley. Check out 2015 individual-based State team scores here: Class A | Class AA | Class AAA.

Five Lifetime Achievement Award recipients were honored for their coaching longevity – Gerald Breid of Wadena-Deer Creek, Mike Kenny of Wadena-Deer Creek, Dennis Kuisle of Stewartville, Al Price of Hopkins, and Wes Tessman of Minnewaska.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?