It’s official: SDSU wrestling joins Big 12

The Big 12 conference made it official Wednesday, adding the six schools from the Western Wrestling Conference as affiliate members for wrestling, effective the upcoming 2015-16 school year.

South Dakota State is joined by North Dakota State, Wyoming, Air Force, Northern Colorado and Utah Valley in the newly formed alliance.

The merger had been rumored since the winter and was widely reported in the media when Oklahoma State coach John Smith publicly acknowledged it. It took awhile for the red tape to get sorted out, though SDSU coach Chris Bono said it was merely a formality. Continue reading at

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.