Two more nationally ranked teams added to Clash XIV field

The Clash XIV organizing committee released another group of five teams that will be in the field for this year’s even to be held on January 1st and 2nd of 2016 at the UCR Fieldhouse in Rochester, Minn. In sum, ten of the 32 teams have now been unveiled, with five of them finishing the 2014-15 season in the InterMat Fab50 national team rankings.

Tuttle, Okla. and Mesa Mountain View, Ariz. are the two most recently released teams to have finished this past season in the Fab50 rankings, at positions No. 23 and No. 28 respectively. They join previously announced Buchanan, Calif. (No. 12 at the end of last year), St. Micahel-Albertville, Minn. (No. 21), and Glenbard North, Ill. (No. 22) in the field.

Tuttle won a seventh consecutive state title this past season in Oklahoma’s 4A classification. They return ten state qualifiers this coming season, nine of whom were state finalists last year. Returning state champions are Rhett Golowenski (106), Tanner Litterell (126), Beau Guffey (138), Dayton Garrett (145), and Tanner Johnson (160); Litterell and Guffey are now two-time state champions. Also returning are state runners-up Noah McQuigg (113), Brik Filippo (132), Blake Berryhill (220), and Brandon Mason (285). Continue reading at

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?