Three Jackrabbits reach Daktronics Open finals

Three South Dakota State wrestlers reached the finals of their respective weight classes during the season-opening Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open Sunday at Frost Arena.

Newcomer Seth Gross, dropped a 5-2 decision to Minnesota’s Thomas Thorn in the 141-pound weight class, while Brady Ayers and Nate Rotert each reached the finals in the upper weights. Ayers lost by fall to North Dakota State’s Hayden Zillmer in the 184-pound final, while Rotert was defeated by technical fall against Brett Pfarr of Minnesota in the 197-pound championship bout.

SDSU JackrabbitsLuke Zilverberg recorded a third-place finish at 165 pounds to close out the Jackrabbits’ top-three placings.

In other wrestling action Sunday, 157-pounder and three-time NCAA qualifier Cody Pack lost by fall in sudden victory to Mitch Minotti of Lehigh (Pa.) in an exhibition match at the National Wrestling Coaches Association All-Star Classic in Atlanta. The match was tied at 1-1 going into the overtime session.

The Jackrabbits are scheduled to open the dual season next Saturday (Nov. 7) at the Minnesota Quad in Minneapolis. SDSU is scheduled to wrestle Minnesota, Virginia and Grand Canyon (Ariz.) in the four-team event.

Following are the championship match results from the Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open:
125: Kris Williams (unattached) and Tim Lambert (Nebraska) [co-champions – no title match contested]
133: Eric Montoya (Nebraska) dec. Colton McCrystal (Nebraska), 6-5
141: Thomas Thorn (Minnesota) dec. Seth Gross (unattached), 5-2
149: Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska) dec. Clayton Ream (North Dakota State), 8-7
157: Tyler Berger (Nebraska) dec. Brandon Kingsley (Minnesota), 6-4 [SV-1]
165: Dustin Williams (Nebraska) dec. Tyler McNutt (North Dakota State), 1-0
174: Micah Barnes (Nebraska) dec. David Kocer (unattached), 3-2
184: Hayden Zillmer (North Dakota State) def. Brady Ayers (unattached), by fall 3:26
197: Brett Pfarr (Minnesota) tech. fall Nate Rotert (unattached), 15-0 (5:30)
285: Michael Kroells (Minnesota) dec. Rylee Streifel (Minnesota), 4-0

SDSU Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open Results

View More College News