Minnesota State 44 Minot State 3

Mavericks Win Nine Out of Ten Matches, Cruise Past Minot State 44-3

MINOT, N.D. — The Maverick wrestling team (2-0, 2-0 NSIC) came into Friday night ready to wrestle, displaying so by winning nine of the ten matches in its dual against Minot State, winning by a final score of 44-3.

Trevor Schultz (Jr., 125 lbs., 9-7) started the dual off with a forfeit victory to give the Mavericks a 6-0 lead that they would not give up for the rest of the night. Paul Selman (Fr., 133 lbs., 16-4) won by tech fall over Colton Nichols by a score of 18-1 to give the Mavericks an 11-0 advantage. Alphonso Vruno (Sr., 141 lbs., 8-3) continued MSU’s momentum with a 13-9 decision over Tanner Crissler to increase the lead to 14-0.

MSU-Mankato MavericksFollowing the Mavericks’ only loss of the day at 149 pounds, the team would go on to win the final six matches of the dual. Matt Mincey (R-Sr., 157 lbs., 6-0) continued his unbeaten streak with an 18-1 tech fall over Marcus Polak. Corey Abernathy (So., 165 lbs., 2-0) finished his first weekend back with two wins, where tonight he won by fall over Carlos Tolenado in 4:35. Adam Cooling (Jr., 174 lbs. 14-2) picked up a quick pin over Mason Courtright in 2:15.

Scott VanDeLoo (Sr., 184 lbs., 8-0) moved his unbeaten streak on the year to eight by defeating Briley Crissler by an 11-0 major decision, while Darick Vancura (Jr., 197 lbs., 4-6) won by fall over Tiger Paasch in 5:55. Malcolm Allen (Sr., 285 lbs., 7-7) closed the night out for the Mavericks with a solid victory over one of Minot State’s top wrestlers, Mitchell Eull by a decision of 5-2.

MSU will take a short break through the holiday season, but will return to action on Friday, January 8, as it takes part in the two-day National Duals in Fort Wayne, Ind.

Minnesota State 44, Minot State 3
125 – Trevor Schultz, MSU, won by forfeit, (6-0)
133 – Paul Selman, MSU, won by technical fall over Colton Nichols, 18-1 (11-0)
141 – Alphonso Vruno, MSU, def. Tanner Crissler, 13-9 (14-0)
149 – Cody Haugen, MINOT, def. Dylan Herman, 3-1 (14-3)
157 – Matt Mincey, MSU, won by technical fall over Marcus Polak, 18-1 (19-3)
165 – Corey Abernathy, MSU, pinned Carlos Tolenado, 4:35 (25-3)
174 – Adam Cooling, MSU, pinned Mason Courtright, 2:15 (31-3)
184 – Scott VanDeLoo, MSU, won by major decision over Briley Crissler, 11-0 (35-3)
197 – Darick Vancura, MSU, pinned Tiger Paasch, 5:55 (41-2)
Hwt – Malcolm Allen, MSU, def. Mitchell Eull, 5-2 (44-3)

View more college results