Augustana 31, Northern State 12

Augustana opens conference dual season with a victory over Northern State

SIOUX FALLS, S.D.- No. 15 Augustana wrestling won its first conference dual of the season defeating Northern State 31-12 Friday Night at the Elmen Center. The victory gives the Vikings an 8-2 record on the season, 1-0 NSIC, the loss dropped the Wolves to 4-4 (0-1 NSIC).

Javier Vieyra (125 Pounds) got Augustana on the board first with an 8-1 decision over Ben Cauffman. Vieyra dominated most of the match scoring three takedowns and an escape to secure the victory. Giving the Vikings an early 3-0 lead.

Augustana VikingsNorthern State would take a 6-3 lead when Ben Carson pinned David Potratz (133 Pounds) in the first period.

Austin Jordan (141 Pounds) gets a 4-0 decision win over Matt Bettencourt. All Jordan needed was a four-point nearfall in the second period to secure the victory. Jordan improved to 2-0 in duals on the season.

Northern State would get the next two victories by way of decisions at 157 pounds and 165 pounds to tie the match at 12.

Ben Goodwin (174 Pounds) got Augustana back in the win column with a 17-4 major decision over Anthony Navarro. Goodwin had four takedown and two near falls during the match. Goodwin improved to 4-1 on the season.

Logan Henning (184 Pounds) would score a pin in the second period over David Murphy. Henning had two four-point nearfalls during the match before finally pinning Murphy.

Aero Amo (197 Pounds) improved to 16-1 on the season defeating No. 7 Joe Gomez by a 5-1 sudden victory. Amo and Gomez were both tied at one going into overtime. Amo would score the takedown and the nearfall with five second left in the first overtime section to gain the victory. This is Amo’s first victory over a ranked opponent this season.

Augustana will travel to Kenosha, Wis. next weekend to compete in the Ranger Duals with the first dual starting at 9 a.m.

Augustana 31, Northern State 12
125 – Javier Vieyra (AU) dec. Ben Cauffman (NSU), 8-1 — AU 3 NSU 0
133 – Carson Henry (NSU) fall (:19) David Potratz (AU) — NSU 6 AU 3
141 – Austin Jordan (AU) dec. Matt Bettencourt, 4-0 — AU 6 NSU 6
149 – Colin Ayers wins by forfeit — AU 12 NSU 6
157 – Blake Perryman (NSU) dec. Shawn Hatlestad (AU),13-9 — AU 12 NSU 9
165 – Sean Havlovic (NSU) dec. Bruce Lemon Jr., 8-4 — AU 12 NSU 12
174 – Ben Goodwin (AU) major dec. Anthony Navarro (NSU), 17-4 — AU 16 NSU 12
184 – Logan Henning (AU) fall (4:47) David Murphy (NSU) — AU 22 NSU 12
197 – No. 7 Aero Amo sudden victory No. 7 Joe Gomez (NSU), 5-1 — AU 25 NSU 12
285 – Joe Schiller wins by forfeit — AU 31 NSU 12

View more college results

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?