Notre Dame stays No. 1 in fourth regular season poll of 2015-16

NEWBERRY, S.C. – The Notre Dame College Falcons remain as the nation’s No. 1 team in the fourth regular season 2015-16 Division II Wrestling Coaches’ Association Poll, released Thursday.

The Falcons took seven first-place votes from the panel, as most teams nationally are completing their duals schedule over the next two weeks with the regional tournaments just around the corner.

There was not much movement in the upper parts of any weight class, but changes can be expected before the fifth poll as action picks back up. The resumption of the RMAC Championships this Sunday is sure to cause some shakeups in the Super Region IV portions of the rankings.

A number of the Super Region II teams are also competing in the Super Region II Duals this weekend, so a number of ranked wrestlers will likely face off and cause some changes.

The next national rankings will be released on February 11.

[eztable caption=”TEAM RANKINGS” th=”0″ width=”500″]Rank,School,1st,Points,Prev
1.,Notre Dame (Ohio),7,158,1
2.,St. Cloud (Minn.) State, ,151,2
3.,Pitt-Johnstown, ,140,4
4.,Maryville (Mo.),1,139,3
5.,Nebraska-Kearney, ,125,5
6.,Wisconsin-Parkside, ,110,6
7.,Mercyhurst (Pa.), ,104,7
8.,Upper Iowa, ,96,8
9.,California Baptist, ,95,12
10.,Lindenwood (Mo.), ,92,10
11.,Colorado Mesa, ,80,11
12.,Lake Erie (Ohio), ,75,9
13.,Tiffin (Ohio), ,59,12
14.,Findlay (Ohio), ,53,14
15.,Minnesota State, ,48,14
16.,Wheeling (W.Va.) Jesuit, ,41,17
17.,Western State Colorado, ,31,16
18.,Indianapolis, ,25,18
19.,Colorado State-Pueblo, ,20,20
20.,McKendree (Ill.), ,12,19[/eztable]

Others receiving votes: Central Oklahoma, Minnesota State-Moorhead, Newman (Kan.), Chadron State, Newberry, Augustana


125 pounds
1. Tim Prescott, St. Cloud State
2. Dustin Reed, Newman
3. Willie Bohince, Mercyhurst
4. Josh Kieffer, Indianapolis
5. Dustin Warner, Wheeling Jesuit
6. Evan Link, Pitt-Johnstown
7. Connor Bolling, Nebraska-Kearney
8. Jacob Goodwin, Notre Dame
133 pounds
1. Daniel DeShazer, Nebraska-Kearney
2. Blake Bosch, Minn. St.-Moorhead
3. Martin Ramirez, Adams State
4. Hunter Haralson, Lindenwood
5. Dakota Bauer, Maryville
6. David Bavery, Notre Dame
7. Joe Calderone, LIU Post
8. Matt Paulus, Upper Iowa
141 pounds
1. Nate Rodriguez, Maryville
2. Daniel Salazar, Colorado Mesa
3. Bryce Killian, King
4. Cobey Fehr, Notre Dame
5. Darren Wynn, McKendree
6. Corbin Bennetts, Western St. Colorado
7. Keith Surber, Nebraska-Kearney
8. Sam Hanau, Pitt-Johnstown
149 pounds
1. Nick Goebel, Findlay
2. Terrance McKinney, Chadron State
3. Jeremy Landowski, Mercyhurst
4. Keenan Hagerty, Maryville
5. Jay Hildreth, St. Cloud State
6. Drew Schumann, Colorado Mesa
7. Ty Lydic, Seton Hill
8. Mech Spraggins, McKendree
157 pounds
1. Terrel Wilbourn, Lindenwood
2. Matt Mincey, Minnesota State
3. Jonatan Rivera, Notre Dame
4. JaCobi Jones, Colorado St.-Pueblo
5. Chase White, Nebraska-Kearney
6. Matt Martoccio, Kutztown
7. Brady Bersano, California Baptist
8. Chris Baughman, Lake Erie
165 pounds
1. Clint Poster, St. Cloud State
2. Jessie Hoffschneider, Colorado Mesa
3. Francis Mizia, Mercyhurst
4. Nick Fishback, Wisconsin-Parkside
5. Zak Benitz, Upper Iowa
6. Juwan Edmond, Notre Dame
7. Dimitri Willis, Maryville
8. Matt Vandermeer, Lake Erie
174 pounds
1. Nick Becker, Wisconsin-Parkside
2. Zeb Wahle, Maryville
3. August Mizia, Mercyhurst
4. Clayton Jennissen, St. Cloud State
5. Blaze Shade, UNC Pembroke
6. Terrance Williams, Colorado St.-Pueblo
7. Archie Williams, Central Missouri
8. Adam Cooling, Minnesota State
184 pounds
1. Joey Davis, Notre Dame
2. Travis McKillop, Pitt-Johnstown
3. Huston Evans, Newberry
4. Aero Amo, Augustana
5. Jacob Waste, California Baptist
6. Jon Inman, Fort Hays State
7. Montrail Johnson, Wisconsin-Parkside
8. Scott VanDeLoo, Minnesota State
197 pounds
1. Romero Cotton, Nebraska-Kearney
2. Ryan Beltz, Maryville
3. Joe Brandt, Ashland
4. Garret Lineberger, Notre Dame
5. Jake Cramer, Tiffin
6. Paul Wilson, Colorado Mines
7. Joe Gomez, Northern State
8. Evan Rosborough, Lake Erie
285 pounds
1. Austin Goergen, St. Cloud State
2. Garrett Grey, Tiffin
3. D.J. Simms, Pitt-Johnstown
4. Jacob Mitchell, Colorado St.-Pueblo
5. Donnell Walker, Maryville
6. Joe Fagiano, California Baptist
7. Tyson Searer, East Stroudsburg
8. Cole Wilson, Southwest Minn. St.

View more college rankings