Notre Dame takes over DII top spot in third regular season poll

NEWBERRY, S.C. – The Notre Dame College Falcons have jumped to No. 1 in the third regular season 2015-16 Division II Wrestling Coaches’ Association Poll after taking the title at the 2016 NWCA National Duals.

The Falcons took six first-place votes after their 4-0 run in Fort Wayne, Ind., including a semifinal win over former top dogs, Maryville. The Saints took the other two first-place votes in the poll and are in third place.

National Duals runners-up St. Cloud State remained in second place while the Mountain Cats of Pitt-Johnstown jumped to fourth from seventh. Nebraska-Kearney rounds out the top five.

Seven top-ranked wrestlers were knocked off in Fort Wayne, but nine of the 10 weight classes still have the same wrestler ranked No. 1 despite tough competition just behind them. Lindenwood’s Terrel Wilbourn at 157 lbs. is the only new No. 1.

The next national rankings will be released on January 28.

[eztable caption=”TEAM RANKINGS”width=”500″]Rank,School,1st,Points,Prev
1.,Notre Dame (Ohio),6,155,5
2.,St. Cloud (Minn.) State, ,151,2
3.,Maryville (Mo.),2,142,1
4.,Pitt-Johnstown, ,139,7
5.,Nebraska-Kearney, ,122,3
6.,Wisconsin-Parkside, ,115,6
7.,Mercyhurst (Pa.), ,110,4
8.,Upper Iowa, ,99,11
9.,Lake Erie (Ohio), ,86,9
10.,Lindenwood (Mo.), ,84,10
11.,Colorado Mesa, ,80,20
12.,Tiffin (Ohio), ,73,12
,California Baptist, ,73,8
14.,Findlay (Ohio), ,49,12
,Minnesota State, ,49,RV
16.,Western State Colorado, ,38,17
17.,Wheeling (W.Va.) Jesuit, ,35,14
18.,Indianapolis, ,25,16
19.,McKendree (Ill.), ,15,RV
20.,Colorado State-Pueblo, ,11,RV
,Ashland (Ohio), ,11,19[/eztable]

Others receiving votes: Central Oklahoma, Augustana, Minnesota State-Moorhead, Newman (Kan.)


125 pounds
1. Tim Prescott St. Cloud State
2. Dustin Reed Newman
3. Josh Kieffer Indianapolis
4. Dustin Warner Wheeling Jesuit
5. Evan Link Pitt-Johnstown
6. Connor Bolling Nebraska-Kearney
7. Danny Swan Lindenwood
8. Sebastian Vidika Ashland
133 pounds
1. Daniel DeShazer Nebraska-Kearney
2. Blake Bosch Minn. St.-Moorhead
3. Martin Ramirez Adams State
4. Hunter Haralson Lindenwood
5. Dakota Bauer Maryville
6. Chandler Minnard Ashland
7. David Bavery Notre Dame
8. Joe Calderone LIU Post
141 pounds
1. Nate Rodriguez Maryville
2. Daniel Salazar Colorado Mesa
3. Dylan D’Urso Mercyhurst
4. Bryce Killian King
5. Darren Wynn McKendree
6. Nick Crume Indianapolis
7. Corbin Bennetts Western St. Colorado
8. Cobey Fehr Notre Dame
149 pounds
1. Nick Goebel Findlay
2. Terrance McKinney Chadron State
3. Jeremy Landowski Mercyhurst
4. Keenan Hagerty Maryville
5. Frank Yatonni Wisconsin-Parkside
6. Jay Hildreth St. Cloud State
7. Drew Schumann Colorado Mesa
8. Ty Lydic Seton Hill
157 pounds
1. Terrel Wilbourn Lindenwood
2. Matt Mincey Minnesota State
3. Jonatan Rivera Notre Dame
4. JaCobi Jones Colorado St.-Pueblo
5. Chris Baughman Lake Erie
6. Matt Martoccio Kutztown
7. Joey White Findlay
8. Sam Viengmany Tiffin
165 pounds
1. Clint Poster St. Cloud State
2. Jessie Hoffschneider Colorado Mesa
3. Francis Mizia Mercyhurst
4. Nick Fishback Wisconsin-Parkside
5. Matt Vandermeer Lake Erie
6. Zak Benitz Upper Iowa
7. Nate Ross Gannon
8. Dimitri Willis Maryville
174 pounds
1. Nick Becker Wisconsin-Parkside
2. Zeb Wahle Maryville
3. August Mizia Mercyhurst
4. Clayton Jennissen St. Cloud State
5. Blaze Shade UNC Pembroke
6. Terrance Williams Colorado St.-Pueblo
7. Adam Cooling Minnesota State
8. Nick Vandermeer Lake Erie
184 pounds
1. Joey Davis Notre Dame
2. Travis McKillop Pitt-Johnstown
3. Huston Evans Newberry
4. Aero Amo Augustana
5. Jacob Waste California Baptist
6. Jon Inman Fort Hays State
7. Montrail Johnson Wisconsin-Parkside
8. Scott VanDeLoo Minnesota State
197 pounds
1. Romero Cotton Nebraska-Kearney
2. Ryan Beltz Maryville
3. Joe Brandt Ashland
4. Garret Lineberger Notre Dame
5. Jake Cramer Tiffin
6. Paul Wilson Colorado Mines
7. Joe Gomez Northern State
8. Evan Rosborough Lake Erie
285 pounds
1. Austin Goergen St. Cloud State
2. Garrett Grey Tiffin
3. D.J. Simms Pitt-Johnstown
4. Jacob Mitchell Colorado St.-Pueblo
5. Donnell Walker Maryville
6. Joe Fagiano California Baptist
7. Andy Welton Mercyhurst
8. Michael Lowman Augustana

View more college rankings

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?