2016 MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team Named

The 2016 edition of the MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team is a Senior-dominated group that truly represents what is good and right about today’s teens. “The focus of this award is to reward some special young men; student-athletes that have shown prowess on the mat, but more importantly, in the classroom. These guys certainly represent that ideal very well!” commented Dean Jennissen, MWCA All-State Academic Chairperson.

The 27 member team consists of 23 seniors and 4 juniors. Three student-athletes carry a perfect 4.0 GPA: Anthony Hennen of Norwood Young America, Grant Jepson of Frazee and Dietrich Balsbaugh of the Trinity School at River Ridge. Overall this elite squad carried a 3.75 combined GPA which is the 2nd highest average in the past 10 years. These guys are getting it done in the classroom!

On the mat, this team has amassed 12 state championships and 4,095 wins with a winning percentage of 81%! Leading the way were two outstanding seniors in five-time State Champion Mark Hall of Apple Valley and a two-time State Champ in STMA’s Mitchell McKee. Both amassed over 1,400 points from the following criteria:

  1. Cumulative GPA – example: 3.95 x 2 = 790 points
  2. Overall matches wrestled – wins and losses – 1 point per match
  3. Winning percentage – 77% = 77 points
  4. State Tournament Participation – 25 points per year
  5. State Tournament Placement – 1st (50 points), 2nd (40), 3rd (35), 4th (25), 5th (20) and 6th (10)

Other State Champions selected to the team were: Ethan Cota of Kenyon-Wanamingo, Tucker Sjomeling of Delano, Skylar Hieronimus of Adrian, Wade Sullivan of Lakeville North and Taylor Venz of Farmington.

Class A led the way with 11 honorees, AAA 10 and AA with 6. Kenyon-Wanamingo, Delano, STMA, Farmington and Frazee each had two wrestlers selected to the team. Repeat members on this team are Skylar Hieronimus of Adrian, Colten Carlson of Willmar, Mark Hall of Apple Valley and James Huwe of Detroit Lakes.

“These young men are truly the ‘cream of the crop’ and a great example of the caliber of student-athletes we have involved in wrestling state-wide. I want to especially thank our dedicated coaches for nominating their wrestlers each year,” said Jennissen.

The 27 honorees will be awarded plaques at the River Centre in St. Paul during the State Tournament.

2016 Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) All-State Academic Team
106John Altendorf11GoodhueA
113Victor Gliva12FarmingtonAAA
113Ethan Cota12Kenyon-WanamingoA
120Willard Meine12Fertile-BeltramiA
120Anthony Hennen12Norwood Young AmericaA
126Tucker Sjomeling11DelanoAA
126Skylar Hieronimus12AdrianA
132Thomas Stageberg12New London-SpicerA
132Jack Bourgeois12MonticelloAA
138Mitchell McKee12STMAAAA
138Grant Jepson12FrazeeA
145Jackson Sweeney12Watertown-MayerAA
145Wade Sullivan11Lakeville NorthAAA
152Dietrich Balsbaugh12Trinity School at River RidgeA
152Jake Allar11STMAAAA
160Colten Carlson12WillmarAAA
160Brenden Olevson12Chaska/ChanhassenAAA
170Mark Hall12Apple ValleyAAA
170Ted Androli12Kenyon-WanamingoA
182Taylor Venz12FarmingtonAAA
182Alex Bertram12ByronA
195Brandon Moen11OwatonnaAAA
195Adam Treptau12BuffaloAAA
220Kevin Kneisl12DelanoAA
220Jonah Lange12FrazeeA
HwtJames Huwe12Detroit LakesAA
HwtLogan Swanson12Mankato EastAA
Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed