2016 MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team Named

The 2016 edition of the MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team is a Senior-dominated group that truly represents what is good and right about today’s teens. “The focus of this award is to reward some special young men; student-athletes that have shown prowess on the mat, but more importantly, in the classroom. These guys certainly represent that ideal very well!” commented Dean Jennissen, MWCA All-State Academic Chairperson.

The 27 member team consists of 23 seniors and 4 juniors. Three student-athletes carry a perfect 4.0 GPA: Anthony Hennen of Norwood Young America, Grant Jepson of Frazee and Dietrich Balsbaugh of the Trinity School at River Ridge. Overall this elite squad carried a 3.75 combined GPA which is the 2nd highest average in the past 10 years. These guys are getting it done in the classroom!

On the mat, this team has amassed 12 state championships and 4,095 wins with a winning percentage of 81%! Leading the way were two outstanding seniors in five-time State Champion Mark Hall of Apple Valley and a two-time State Champ in STMA’s Mitchell McKee. Both amassed over 1,400 points from the following criteria:

  1. Cumulative GPA – example: 3.95 x 2 = 790 points
  2. Overall matches wrestled – wins and losses – 1 point per match
  3. Winning percentage – 77% = 77 points
  4. State Tournament Participation – 25 points per year
  5. State Tournament Placement – 1st (50 points), 2nd (40), 3rd (35), 4th (25), 5th (20) and 6th (10)

Other State Champions selected to the team were: Ethan Cota of Kenyon-Wanamingo, Tucker Sjomeling of Delano, Skylar Hieronimus of Adrian, Wade Sullivan of Lakeville North and Taylor Venz of Farmington.

Class A led the way with 11 honorees, AAA 10 and AA with 6. Kenyon-Wanamingo, Delano, STMA, Farmington and Frazee each had two wrestlers selected to the team. Repeat members on this team are Skylar Hieronimus of Adrian, Colten Carlson of Willmar, Mark Hall of Apple Valley and James Huwe of Detroit Lakes.

“These young men are truly the ‘cream of the crop’ and a great example of the caliber of student-athletes we have involved in wrestling state-wide. I want to especially thank our dedicated coaches for nominating their wrestlers each year,” said Jennissen.

The 27 honorees will be awarded plaques at the River Centre in St. Paul during the State Tournament.

[eztable caption=”2016 Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) All-State Academic Team” width=”550″]Wt.,Wrestler,Grade,School,Class
106,John Altendorf,11,Goodhue,A
113,Victor Gliva,12,Farmington,AAA
113,Ethan Cota,12,Kenyon-Wanamingo,A
120,Willard Meine,12,Fertile-Beltrami,A
120,Anthony Hennen,12,Norwood Young America,A
126,Tucker Sjomeling,11,Delano,AA
126,Skylar Hieronimus,12,Adrian,A
132,Thomas Stageberg,12,New London-Spicer,A
132,Jack Bourgeois,12,Monticello,AA
138,Mitchell McKee,12,STMA,AAA
138,Grant Jepson,12,Frazee,A
145,Jackson Sweeney,12,Watertown-Mayer,AA
145,Wade Sullivan,11,Lakeville North,AAA
152,Dietrich Balsbaugh,12,Trinity School at River Ridge,A
152,Jake Allar,11,STMA,AAA
160,Colten Carlson,12,Willmar,AAA
160,Brenden Olevson,12,Chaska/Chanhassen,AAA
170,Mark Hall,12,Apple Valley,AAA
170,Ted Androli,12,Kenyon-Wanamingo,A
182,Taylor Venz,12,Farmington,AAA
182,Alex Bertram,12,Byron,A
195,Brandon Moen,11,Owatonna,AAA
195,Adam Treptau,12,Buffalo,AAA
220,Kevin Kneisl,12,Delano,AA
220,Jonah Lange,12,Frazee,A
Hwt,James Huwe,12,Detroit Lakes,AA
Hwt,Logan Swanson,12,Mankato East,AA[/eztable]