Petsinger Selected for Induction into NCAA DII Wrestling Hall of Fame

Mankato, Minn. – The NCAA Division II Wrestling Coaches Association has announced that former MSU-Mankato wrestler Matt Petsinger has been selected for induction into its Hall of Fame.

The twentieth class of inductees consists of eleven individuals inducted into the Wrestlers Category. One individual inducted into the Coaches Category, The Hall of Famers that are being inducted include: George Thompson (North Dakota State 1994-1998); Nick Severson (North Dakota State 1998-2002); Ryan Wolters (North Dakota State 1994-1998; Steve Saxlund (North Dakota State 1997-2001; Todd Fuller (North Dakota State 1998-2002; Tom Meester (Augustana 2001-2005; Sam Herriman (Augustana 1975-1979; Matt Petsinger (Minnesota State 1997- 2001); Jason Liles (Coach, South Dakota State 1993 – 2012; Pat Dorn (South Dakota 1985-1989; Paul Konechne (South Dakota State 1997-2001; Ryan Resell (South Dakota State 1995 – 1999).

MSU-Mankato MavericksAlong with the ten other inductees, Petsinger will be officially inducted at a ceremony on Thursday, March 9 at 7:00 p.m. in Sioux Falls, S.D. The Division II Hall of Fame Ceremony will be held in conjunction with a reception for coaches and dignitaries on the eve of the 54th annual NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships in Sioux Falls, S.D.

A four-year letterwinner who was a four-time All-American, Petsinger won the NCAA Division II title at 157 lbs., as a senior in 2001. One of only eight MSU wrestlers in the history of the program to be a four-time All-American, Petsinger went 43-3 as a senior with 26 pins. The Ellendale, Minn., native finished third at nationals as a junior, sophomore and freshman. The 2001 North Central Conference champion at 157 lbs., Petsinger was a two-time team captain and he stands tied for fourth on Minnesota State career wins list with 120-26 mark.

Petsinger owns the school record for career pins with 84 and was named the 2000-01 Minnesota State Senior Male Athlete of the Year. Petsinger garnered the Gorriarian Award winner twice in his career, presented to the NCAA wrestler who has scored the most falls in the least amount of time at the NCAA tournament. In his senior season, his 26 pins earned him the Schalles Award for being the top collegiate pinner in all collegiate divisions.

He was the 2000-01 MSU wrestling team MVP. and was a three-time North Central Conference Wrestler of the Week. A Maverick Achievement Award recipient as a senior scholar-athlete. Petsinger was inducted into the Minnesota State Athletics Hall of Fame in 2015.

He currently serves as the wrestling coach at St. Edmond High School in Ft. Dodge, Iowa.

Petsinger becomes the ninth Maverick overall to be inducted, joining iconic Rummy Macias who coached MSU from 1950-88 and was inducted 1999. Current Minnesota State head coach Jim Makovsky was inducted in 2013 and MSU wrestlers who have been inducted include Bob Soulek (2004), Jack Eustice (2004), Jim Gale (2004), Howie Gangestad (2008), Larry Amundson (2008) and Tony Kenning (2008).

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?