SCSU Wrestlers gain national academic honors in 2015-16

The 2015-2016 Division II All-Academic Wrestling Team consists of 192 student-athletes from 42 universities and colleges. Thirty-three members were named to the first team, 52 members to the second team, and 107 were named as honorable mention. This list includes several members of the St. Cloud State University wrestling team that recently won the 2016 NCAA Division II national championships on March 11-12 in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Huskies named to the 2015-16 Division II All-Academic Wrestling First Team were senior Clint Poster, an entreprenuership major from Pierz, Minn.; senior Tim Prescott, an liberal studies major from Prescott, Kan. and redshirt freshman Brett Velasquez, a biomedical sciences major from Bennington, Neb.

SCSU HuskiesSCSU wrestlers named to the Division II All-Academic Wrestling Second Team were redshirt junior Luke Belich, a mechanical engineering major from Mukwonago, Wisc.; redshirt junior Josh Berg, a business finance major from Pewaukee, Wisc. and redshirt sophomore Travis Holt, an education major from Stanchfield, Minn.

Huskies named to the All-Academic Wrestling Honorable Mention team included redshirt freshman Joe Mosley, an information systems major from South Haven, Minn.; junior Joel Salomon, an athletic training major from Greeley, Colo. and redshirt freshman Curt Zachmeier, a biomedical sciences major from Mandan, N.D.

DII Wrestling Coaches Association All-Academic Teams

In order for a student-athlete to be nominated to the Division II All-Academic Team, he needed to have a minimum 3.00 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale. He must also be in at least his second full year at his school, be a varsity member on his team or a key reserve, demonstrate a degree of skill and have a minimum of two letters of recommendation (academic advisor and coach) submitted on his behalf.

The Huskies charted a 16-1 dual record in 2015-16 and also placed first in the always rugged Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference with an 8-0 record. SCSU has won two consecutive NCAA Division II national titles and the Huskies have won five consecutive NSIC championships under the leadership of head coach Steve Costanzo.

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?