Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions selects Class of 2016

WATERLOO, Iowa – The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum announced that three of the most prominent wrestlers in Greco-Roman history—Jim Hazewinkel, Dave Hazewinkel and Lindsey Durlacher—will be inducted into the Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions. The Minnesota Wrestling Club will be presented with the Legacy Award and Joe DeMeo will receive the Alan Rice Leadership Award.

The Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions is located in the NWHOF Dan Gable Museum.

The ceremony for the seventh class to be inducted will held on Oct. 22 at the Christensen Center Commons on the campus of Augsburg College in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The reception begins at 6 p.m. followed by dinner at 7 p.m. and the ceremony at 8 p.m.

nwhoflogoContact the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum at (319) 233-0745 or for more information on the Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions. Banquet tickets are $50 each and can be ordered online by clicking

Dave and Jim Hazewinkel, identical twin brothers from Coon Rapids, Minnesota, were members of the 1968 and 1972 United States Greco-Roman Olympic teams and were both members of six consecutive World and Olympic teams from 1967 to 1972. Dave was the first American to win two World medals in Greco-Roman wrestling, earning a bronze medal in 1969 and a silver medal in 1970. Jim was also a member of the 1966 World team and his highest finish at the World Championships was fourth in 1969.

The Hazewinkels were presented the Legacy Award by the Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions in 2012.

Lindsey Durlacher helped lead the United States to its first Greco-Roman World Championship team title in 2007, finishing fifth. He was a silver medalist at the Pan American Championships in 2003, and again in 2007 after moving up a weight class. He won a bronze medal at 121 pounds at the 2006 World Championships, and was also a member of the USA team for the 2005 World Championships. He was the U.S. Open champion in 2006 and was runner-up in the event five times.

Joe DeMeo was head coach of the U.S. Greco-Roman World team four times, and was a member of the Olympic coaching staff in 1976, 1980, 1988, and 1992. He was named National Coach of the Year three times by USA Wrestling, which named him Developmental Coach of the Year in 2005.

The Minnesota Wrestling Club (sometimes called “The Minnesota Storm”) has consistently supported the sport of wrestling since its formation in the 1960s.

The team has won more than 20 national team championships and produced four USA national and Olympic team coaches. They had a domineering presence in the recent Olympic team trials, and continued their record of placing a wrestler on every USA Olympic wrestling team since 1964.

Alan and Gloria Rice, namesakes of the hall of champions, have been instrumental to the success of Greco-Roman wrestling in the United States. Alan Rice was a Big Ten champion and an All-American for the University of Minnesota. In 1956 he won national titles in Greco-Roman and freestyle, and placed fifth at the Olympics. He was a coach of the 1972 Greco-Roman Olympic team.

7th Annual Alan & Gloria Rice Greco-Roman Hall of Champions

Saturday, October 22, 2016, 6:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Augsburg College, Christensen Center Commons, 720 22nd Avenue, South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 – map


Hall of Champions
Jim Hazewinkel
Dave Hazewinkel

Lindsey Durlacher (posthumously)

Legacy Award
Minnesota Wrestling Club

Alan Rice Leadership Award
Joe DeMeo

Saturday, October 22, 2016

6:00 pm Reception
7:00 pm Dinner
8:00 pm Honors Ceremony
~business casual~