Midlands Championships

2016 Midlands Championships results. December 29-30 at Evanston, Ill.

1. Iowa 150.5
2. Nebraska 135.5
3. Arizona State 106.5
4. Rutgers 93.0
5. Illinois 83.0
6. NC State 78.0
7. Wisconsin 70.5
8. South Dakota State 66.0
9. Rider 60.0
10. Oklahoma 58.5
11. Central Michigan 56.5
12. Iowa State 54.5
13. Indiana 46.0
14. CSU Bakersfield 45.5
15. Princeton 38.0
16. Northwestern 37.5
17. Maryland 36.0
18. Eastern Michigan 34.5
19. Old Dominion 31.5
20. Northern Illinois 31.0
21. Oregon State 30.5
22. Purdue 29.5
23. American 28.0
24. Ohio 27.5
25. North Dakota State 23.0
26. Pittsburgh 21.0
27. Buffalo 17.5
28. Messiah 15.5
29. Harvard 15.0
30. Columbia 14.0
31. Ohio State 13.5
32. Boise State 12.5
33. SIU Edwardsville 9.5
34. Grand View 8.5
35. Brown 5.0
36. Wabash 5.0
37. UW-Whitewater 2.5
38. Franklin & Marshall 1.0
39. Sacred Heart 1.0
40. Chicago 0.5
41. Lehigh 0.0
42. Michigan 0.0

Final Brackets

Brackets/Results on TrackWrestling.com

Midlands – 125
1st Place – Thomas Gilman of Iowa
2nd Place – Tim Lambert of Nebraska
3rd Place – Josh Terao of American
4th Place – Sebastian Rivera of Northwestern
5th Place – Shakur Laney of Ohio
6th Place – Lucas Malmberg of Messiah
7th Place – Johnny Jimenez of Wisconsin
8th Place – Christian Moody of Oklahoma
1st: Thomas Gilman (Iowa) won by major decision over Tim Lambert (Nebraska) (Maj 13-4)
3rd: Josh Terao (American) won by medical forfeit over Sebastian Rivera (Northwestern) (MFF)
5th: Shakur Laney (Ohio) won by decision over Lucas Malmberg (Messiah) (Dec 9-3)
7th: Johnny Jimenez (Wisconsin) won by decision over Christian Moody (Oklahoma) (Dec 12-9)

Midlands – 133
1st Place – Eric Montoya of Nebraska
2nd Place – Zane Richards of Illinois
3rd Place – Seth Gross of South Dakota State
4th Place – Earl Hall of Iowa State
5th Place – Jamal Morris of NC State
6th Place – Scott Delvecchio of Rutgers
7th Place – Cameron Kelly of Ohio
8th Place – Eli Stickley of Wisconsin
1st: Eric Montoya (Nebraska) won in sudden victory – 1 over Zane Richards (Illinois) (SV-1 6-4)
3rd: Seth Gross (South Dakota State) won by major decision over Earl Hall (Iowa State) (Maj 13-1)
5th: Jamal Morris (NC State) won by decision over Scott Delvecchio (Rutgers) (Dec 7-5)
7th: Cameron Kelly (Ohio) won by decision over Eli Stickley (Wisconsin) (Dec 5-3)

Midlands – 141
1st Place – Kevin Jack of NC State
2nd Place – Matthew Kolodzik of Princeton
3rd Place – Anthony Ashnault of Rutgers
4th Place – Chad Red of Nebraska
5th Place – Kanen Storr of Iowa State
6th Place – Russell Rohlfing of CSU Bakersfield
7th Place – Christopher Carton of Iowa
8th Place – Nick Zanetta of Pittsburgh
1st: Kevin Jack (NC State) won by decision over Matthew Kolodzik (Princeton) (Dec 1-0)
3rd: Anthony Ashnault (Rutgers) won by tech fall over Chad Red (Nebraska) (TF 17-0)
5th: Kanen Storr (Iowa State) won by decision over Russell Rohlfing (CSU Bakersfield) (Dec 7-5)
7th: Christopher Carton (Iowa) won by decision over Nick Zanetta (Pittsburgh) (Dec 4-1)

Midlands – 149
1st Place – Brandon Sorensen of Iowa
2nd Place – Justin Oliver of Central Michigan
3rd Place – Ryan Deakin of Northwestern
4th Place – Davion Jeffries of Oklahoma
5th Place – Sam Speno of NC State
6th Place – Joey Delgado of Oregon State
7th Place – Anthony Giraldo of Rutgers
8th Place – Alfred Bannister of Maryland
1st: Brandon Sorensen (Iowa) won in sudden victory – 1 over Justin Oliver (Central Michigan) (SV-1 7-1)
3rd: Ryan Deakin (Northwestern) won by decision over Davion Jeffries (Oklahoma) (Dec 6-2)
5th: Sam Speno (NC State) won by injury default over Joey Delgado (Oregon State) (Inj. 4:10)
7th: Anthony Giraldo (Rutgers) won by decision over Alfred Bannister (Maryland) (Dec 4-3)

Midlands – 157
1st Place – Michael Kemerer of Iowa
2nd Place – Tyler Berger of Nebraska
3rd Place – Joshua Shields of Arizona State
4th Place – Evan Wick of Wisconsin
5th Place – Jason Tsirtis of Arizona State
6th Place – Colin Heffernan of Central Michigan
7th Place – Alex Griffin of Purdue
8th Place – John Van Brill of Rutgers
1st: Michael Kemerer (Iowa) won in tie breaker – 2 over Tyler Berger (Nebraska) (TB-2 6-5)
3rd: Joshua Shields (Arizona State) won by major decision over Evan Wick (Wisconsin) (Maj 8-0)
5th: Jason Tsirtis (Arizona State) won by decision over Colin Heffernan (Central Michigan) (Dec 3-2)
7th: Alex Griffin (Purdue) won by decision over John Van Brill (Rutgers) (Dec 5-1)

Midlands – 165
1st Place – Isaiah Martinez of Illinois
2nd Place – Chad Walsh of Rider
3rd Place – Anthony Valencia of Arizona State
4th Place – Alex Marinelli of Iowa
5th Place – Kaleb Young of Iowa
6th Place – Lorenzo De La Riva of CSU Bakersfield
7th Place – Clark Glass of Oklahoma
8th Place – Andrew Fogarty of North Dakota State
1st: Isaiah Martinez (Illinois) won by decision over Chad Walsh (Rider) (Dec 10-6)
3rd: Anthony Valencia (Arizona State) won by fall over Alex Marinelli (Iowa) (Fall 2:41)
5th: Kaleb Young (Iowa) won by decision over Lorenzo De La Riva (CSU Bakersfield) (Dec 9-4)
7th: Clark Glass (Oklahoma) won in sudden victory – 1 over Andrew Fogarty (North Dakota State) (SV-1 6-4)

Midlands – 174
1st Place – Zahid Valencia of Arizona State
2nd Place – Lelund Weatherspoon of Iowa State
3rd Place – Zac Brunson of Illinois
4th Place – Alex Meyer of Iowa
5th Place – Devin Skatzka of Indiana
6th Place – Ryan Christensen of Wisconsin
7th Place – Jordan Pagano of Rutgers
8th Place – Josef Johnson of Harvard
1st: Zahid Valencia (Arizona State) won by major decision over Lelund Weatherspoon (Iowa State) (Maj 11-2)
3rd: Zac Brunson (Illinois) won by decision over Alex Meyer (Iowa) (Dec 9-5)
5th: Devin Skatzka (Indiana) won by decision over Ryan Christensen (Wisconsin) (Dec 9-2)
7th: Jordan Pagano (Rutgers) won by major decision over Josef Johnson (Harvard) (Maj 15-2)

Midlands – 184
1st Place – Timothy Dudley of Nebraska
2nd Place – Jack Dechow of Old Dominion
3rd Place – Samuel Brooks of Iowa
4th Place – Nathan Jackson of Indiana
5th Place – Pete Renda of NC State
6th Place – Nicholas Gravina of Rutgers
7th Place – Michael Macchiavello of NC State
8th Place – Myles Martin of Ohio State
1st: Timothy Dudley (Nebraska) won by decision over Jack Dechow (Old Dominion) (Dec 4-2)
3rd: Samuel Brooks (Iowa) won by decision over Nathan Jackson (Indiana) (Dec 10-5)
5th: Pete Renda (NC State) won by medical forfeit over Nicholas Gravina (Rutgers) (MFF)
7th: Michael Macchiavello (NC State) won by medical forfeit over Myles Martin (Ohio State) (MFF)

Midlands – 197
1st Place – Aaron Studebaker of Nebraska
2nd Place – Nate Rotert of South Dakota State
3rd Place – Shawn Scott of Northern Illinois
4th Place – Ricky Robertson of Wisconsin
5th Place – Ryan Wolfe of Rider
6th Place – Kevin Beazley of Old Dominion
7th Place – Matt Williams of CSU Bakersfield
8th Place – Jacob Berkowitz of Northwestern
1st: Aaron Studebaker (Nebraska) won by decision over Nate Rotert (South Dakota State) (Dec 4-1)
3rd: Shawn Scott (Northern Illinois) won in tie breaker – 1 over Ricky Robertson (Wisconsin) (TB-1 2-1)
5th: Ryan Wolfe (Rider) won by medical forfeit over Kevin Beazley (Old Dominion) (MFF)
7th: Matt Williams (CSU Bakersfield) won by decision over Jacob Berkowitz (Northwestern) (Dec 11-6)

Midlands – 285
1st Place – Tanner Hall of Arizona State
2nd Place – Jordan Wood of Lehigh
3rd Place – Samuel Stoll of Iowa
4th Place – Gage Hutchison of Eastern Michigan
5th Place – Collin Jensen of Nebraska
6th Place – Connor Medbery of Wisconsin
7th Place – Cody Crawford of Oregon State
8th Place – Conan Jennings of Northwestern
1st: Tanner Hall (Arizona State) won by decision over Jordan Wood (Lehigh) (Dec 4-1)
3rd: Samuel Stoll (Iowa) won by fall over Gage Hutchison (Eastern Michigan) (Fall 4:45)
5th: Collin Jensen (Nebraska) won by medical forfeit over Connor Medbery (Wisconsin) (MFF)
7th: Cody Crawford (Oregon State) won by decision over Conan Jennings (Northwestern) (Dec 1-0)

View more college results