NCAA Wrestling Awards Standings

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA has released the updated standings for the 2017 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given in each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most technical falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For falls and tech falls to be counted they must come against opponents in the same division. Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

NCAA champion Gabe Dean of Cornell holds sole position of the top spot in falls in Division I with 12 at 184 pounds. Penn State national champion Zain Retherford, teammate Bo Nickal and Chad Walsh of Rider have all accumulated 10 falls so far, this season.

In Division II, Western State 125-pounder Ronald Wardleigh holds the national lead with 10 falls this season over Carmine Ciotti of Gannon with nine.

Heavyweight Jake Evans of Waynesburg holds the Division III lead over Messiah 133-pounder Hunter Harris by virtue of aggregate time. Evans’ 17 falls have come in 51:34, while Harris has reached his 17 in just a little bit longer time of 52:55.

True freshman Jack Mueller of Virginia leads Division I in tech falls with nine this season at 125 pounds, while Te’Shan Campbell of Pittsburgh and 2016 national runner-up TJ Dudley of Nebraska are right behind Mueller with eight.

Adams State 133-pounder Martin Ramirez leads a quartet of wrestlers that each have six tech falls in Division II. Ramirez’ time of 21:45 is faster than Francis Mizia of Mercyhurst, Cody Law of Pittsburgh-Johnstown and Tyler Mies of Newman.

Stephen Jarrell of Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) has 13 tech falls at 174 pounds to hold a lead of four over his next closest competition.

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points per match are awarded as follows. A 12-match minimum is required to be eligible for the Most Dominant Award.

  • Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)
  • Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)
  • Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)
  • Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

The initial Most Dominant Wrestler standings will be released later this season to allow wrestlers to achieve the 12-match minimum that is required to be eligible for the standings.

NCAA Stat Leaders – Falls

Division I
1Gabe DeanCornell1841226:01
2Zain RetherfordPenn State1491030:35
3Bo NickalPenn State1841034:33
4Chad WalshRider1651041:09
5Adam MackieLock Haven197913:04
6Evan FidelibusRider141925:00
7Mark HallPenn State174929:25
8Patrick QuinlanFrank. & Marsh.141938:44
9Devin NyeKent State285816:34
10Ross LarsonOklahoma285820:04
Division II
1Ronald WardleighWestern State1251026:06
2Carmine CiottiGannon133926:41
3Tyler ReinhartPitt.-Johnstown165811:38
4Garrett GrayTiffin285816:33
5James LehmanWisc.-Parkside197819:23
6Kevin BarrettNeb.-Kearney285823:04
7Tyler RichardsonEast Stroudsburg184823:54
8Payton TawaterColorado Mesa157711:46
9Evan LoughmanLake Erie285713:44
10Francis MiziaMercyhurst165721:36
Division III
1Jake EvansWaynesburg2851751:34
2Hunter HarrisMessiah1331752:55
3AJ KowalStevens1971538:19
4Troy StanichStevens1331444:11
5Dusten ReedWartburg1331319:48
6James BethelSUNY Oneonta2851330:04
7Anthony ArroyoBaldwin Wallace1651336:39
8Justin CochranRoger Williams1411223:22
9Guy PatronLoras1971226:15
10Tom LyndLycoming2851229:42

NCAA Stat Leaders – Tech Falls

Division I
1Jack MuellerVirginia125933:47
2Te’Shan CampbellPittsburgh165834:01
3TJ DudleyNebraska184837:39
4Connor MedberyWisconsin285731:16
5Mike HughesHofstra285738:41
6Thomas HainesLock Haven285741:05
7Stephen SuglioKent State197625:33
8Sal MastrianiVirginia Tech157627:20
9Alex GriffinPurdue157628:20
10Myles MartinOhio State184628:43
Division II
1Martin RamirezAdams State133621:45
2Francis MiziaMercyhurst165622:39
3Cody LawPitt.-Johnstown157633:57
4Tyler MiesNewman149635:21
5Nicholas FiegenerCalifornia Baptist184512:38
6Jason BuhrColorado Mesa165524:54
7Logan HoppUpper Iowa285417:10
8Tyler StenbergNorthern State149418:35
9Terrance FanningWheeling Jesuit197419:04
10Jacob WasteCalifornia Baptist197420:25
Division III
1Stephen JarrellJohnson & Wales (RI)1741371:14
2Alex KramerUrsinus149929:59
3Lucas MalmbergMessiah125838:47
4Seth LansberryLycoming149839:57
5Jason LynchChicago184841:23
6Bobby JordanJohnson & Wales (RI)125844:45
7Zach WilhelmStevens149845:31
8CJ LuthSouthern Me.157724:38
9Mason GearyWis.-La Crosse149728:38
10Colin NavickasStevens165744:33

View More College News

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?