2017 MCC Region I Hall of Fame Banquet to take place on March 6th

The Mayo Civic Center Region I Wrestling Hall of Fame Committee has selected six new members for induction on March 6, 2017.

The banquet will be held in conjunction with the Section 1 High School Seniors and their Coaches Recognition Banquet on Monday, March 6th at the Elks Bingo Hall (1652 North Highway 52 NW) in Rochester, Minn. The Minnesota Clash Wrestling, Inc. is sponsoring the banquet.

Social hour will begin at 5:30 pm with dinner and program to follow. The public is invited. Please RSVP and contact Chuck Siefert at chucksiefert@hotmail.com, Cell: 1-507-398-3400. The meal will cost $15.00 for the public.

2017 MCC Region I Hall of Fame Class

Elzen won back-to-back state individual titles for Dover-Eyota in 1996 and 1997. He won an NHSCA national title in 1997 as well. Elzen was a two-time All-American for the University of Minnesota as a Junior and Senior, placing 5th and 3rd.

Ihrke lives in Rochester and has served on the Board of Directors for the Minnesota Clash Wrestling, Inc. the past 15
years. He has been “The Man Behind the Scenes” for a pair of high-profile tournaments – The Clash National High School Duals, along with the NJCAA National Tournament. Ihrke volunteers for every tournament they host.

Kuisle coached his hometown Stewartville Tigers to 283 career wins and six state tournament trips, placing in four of them. He also coached seven individual state champions. Kuisle was honored as the Section 1A State High School Coach of the Year in 1990. He was also honored as part of the first Wrestling Family Legacy Award last spring by the MCC Committee: The Kuisle Family.

Lundholm had a distinguished coaching career from 1959-1985. Following an All-American honor for Coach Rummy Macias in 1958, Lundholm’s first four years were at Preston. For 22 years at NRHEG, he coached a number of state entrants, state placers, and two individual state champions. He had an outstanding 210-90-9 overall varsity career coaching record.

Richardson was an outstanding wrestler at Hayfield High School and is a member of the Hayfield Dave Erickson Hall of Fame. He coached at GMLOK for a long time and is a frequent coach with the Minnesota Storm. Richardson competed at the International level, placing 4th and 3rd in the 1988 and 1992 Olympic Trials. He is the founder of the Big Jim Classic and The Mental Aerobics Tournament charitable events.

Severson won a state title at Hayfield High School. He was a two-time Division II National Champion at NDSU, and he helped The Bison win two National titles. Severson was selected OW and is a member of The NCAA Division II Hall of Fame. Severson has coached at Byron High School and Rochester CTC where he helped the Yellowjackets win the NJCAA Title in 2013. He is a three-time USA National senior team member placing third at the Olympic Trials in 2003 and fourth at the 2012 Trials.