2017 MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team Named

The 2017 edition of the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) All-State Academic Wrestling Team is a collection of junior and senior wrestlers from around the state that epitomize the quality student-athletes involved in wrestling. “The focus of this award is to reward some special young men; student-athletes that demonstrate excellence on the mat, but more importantly, in the classroom. These guys are the best of the best!” commented Dean Jennissen, MWCA All-State Academic Chairperson.

The team is comprised of sixteen seniors and twelve juniors, selected from 122 nominees. The overall GPA of this elite squad was 3.46 led by Alexandria’s Senior 132-pounder Ben Bogart with a perfect 4.0 GPA and six others with GPA’s north of 3.9.

On the mat, this group has amassed eight state championships, 3,476 wins and a combined winning percentage of 78%! Repeat selections to the squad were John Alendorf of Goodhue, Tucker Sjomeling of Delano, Wade Sullivan of Lakeville North, and Jake Allar of St. Michael-Albertville. The leading point-getter based upon the criteria below with over 1,300 points was two-time State Champion Tucker Sjomeling.

  1. Cumulative GPA – example: 3.95 x 2 = 790 points
  2. Overall matches wrestled – wins and losses – 1 point per match
  3. Winning percentage – 77% = 77 points
  4. State Tournament Participation – 25 points per year
  5. State Tournament Placement – 1st (50 points), 2nd (40), 3rd (35), 4th (25), 5th (20) and 6th (10)

Other State Champions selected to the team were: Sullivan, Garrett Vos of Waconia, Patrick McKee of St. Michael-Albertville, Jake Gliva of Simley, Michael Suda of Pipestone Area and Allar.

Class AAA and AA each had ten selections with Class A representing the other eight slots. Worthington and STMA both had two members of the team.

“These young men represent the caliber of student-athletes we have involved in wrestling state-wide. I want to especially thank our dedicated coaches for nominating their wrestlers each year,” said Jennissen. “If I were a college recruiter, I’d start with this list of well-rounded student-athletes.”

The 28 honorees will be awarded plaques at the River Centre in St. Paul during the State Tournament.

[eztable caption=”2017MWCA All-State Academic Team” th=”0″ width=”500″]106,Matthew Petersen,Byron
106,Landon Byer,Frazee
113,John Altendorf,Goodhue
113,Tanner Frank,Lake City
120,Garrett Vos,Waconia
120,Patrick McKee,STMA
126,Jake Gliva,Simley
126,Michael Suda,Pipestone Area
132,Tucker Sjomeling,Delano
132,Ben Bogart,Alexandria
138,Tyler Eischens,Anoka
138,Brady Tweeton,Barnesville
145,Peter Nelson,St. Cloud Apollo
145,Nick Warne,ROCORI
152,Tyler Shilson,Centennial
152,Zach Buseman,Blue Earth Area
160,Wade Sullivan,Lakeville North
160,Kenny O’ Neil,Prior Lake
170,Jake Allar,STMA
170,Ryan Duffy,South St. Paul
182,Jared Florell,Totino-Grace
182,Vince Riley,Worthington
195,Samuel Grove,Moorhead
195,Mike Delich,Eastview
220,Zachary Jakes,Mankato West
220,Nic Putnam,Worthington
Hwt,Mason Nibbe,West Central Area
Hwt,Brent Robley,Calendonia/Houston[/eztable]