St. Cloud State honors team award winners for 2016-17

The St. Cloud State University wrestling team completed its 2016-17 season with its annual team awards banquet on April 21. The event was held at the St. Cloud Holiday Inn and Suites and it recognized another season of outstanding accomplishments and success for the Huskies.

One of the nation’s elite NCAA Division II programs over the past decade, St. Cloud State charted a second place finish at the 2017 NCAA Division II championships. The Huskies were 17-1 overall and won their sixth consecutive NSIC championship in 2016-17 with a perfect 8-0 record. SCSU won the 2017 NWCA Division II National Duals and later captured the top spot at the 2017 NCAA Division II Super 3 Region tournament under the leadership of Coach Steve Costanzo.

The award banquet was highlighted by the induction of former SCSU wrestling standout Nate Toedter (class of 1989) into the Huskies’ Jack Gause Wrestling Hall of Fame, and Dennis Moske (class of 1977) was honored with an SCSU Alumni Achievement Award. Continue reading at

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?