Bosch Named 2016-17 MSUM Male Athlete of the Year

MOORHEAD, Minn. – Minnesota State University Moorhead senior wrestler Blake Bosch has been named the 2016-17 MSUM Male Athlete of the Year. He received the award at the Red and White Student-Athletes Award Ceremony on Sunday at the Comstock Memorial Union Ballroom on the MSUM campus.

It is the second straight year Bosch has been named the MSUM Male Athlete of the Year.

Bosch had a strong season at MSUM, finishing second in the nation at 133 pounds in March at the DII National Championships. Bosch was the lone NSIC wrestler to qualify for a championship match. The All-American honor was the third of Bosch’s of his Dragon career.

The Wishek, N.D., finished the season 32-2 and was All-NSIC for a third straight season as well. He was the Super Region 3 Tournament Outstanding Wrestler after capturing the 133-pound title at that event on Feb. 25. Bosch was named the NSIC Wrestler of the Year and also was the seventh-most dominant wrestler in Division II.

For his career, Bosch finished with a 115-35 career record. He finished second all-time at MSUM in wins and was a four-time national qualifier.

Several individuals and awards were celebrated at the ceremony. First-Team All-NSIC members, All-American, NCAA statistical champions and several categories of academic awards received recognition. Dragon Awards, The Raise the Bar Award, the Helping Hand Community Award and Come Back award were among the awards given out on Sunday.

Blake Bosch Athlete of the Year
Blake Bosch, second from right, was named the 2016-17 MSUM Male Student-Athlete of the Year. Pictured, from left, are AD Doug Peters, Greg Peterson, Bosch and Matthew Oachs. (Photo by Haley Auger)

Dragon Awards
Nader Abdullatif (Wrestling)
Megan Asham (Softball)
Taylor Beynon (Swimming and Diving)
Jack Bixler (Football)
Cody Christ (Men’s Cross Country)
Lauren Dietz (Women’s Golf)
Jessica Hart (Women’s Basketball)
Katie Meyers (Volleyball)
Matt Nelson (Men’s Basketball)
Micah Palmer (Women’s Soccer)
Ricquel Ramsbottom (Women’s Tennis)
MaKenzie Smith (Women’s Cross Country)

Helping Hand Community Award
Megan Asham (Softball)
Blake Bosch (Wrestling)
Lindsey Brownell (Women’s Soccer)
Shannon Galegher (Women’s Basketball)
Carly Masloski (Volleyball)
Drew Sannes (Women’s Basketball)
Kendall Schauer (Softball)
Cassidy Thorson (Women’s Basketball)
Joe Tjosvold (Football)
Carly Williamson (Softball)

Raise the Bar Award (Strength and Conditioning)
Aaron Lien (Men’s Basketball)
Aunica Novacek (Softball)

Come Back Award (Athletic Training)
Payton Gaber (Softball)
Lexi Heil (Women’s Swimming and Diving)
Jake Hodge (Football)
Molly Montonye (Women’s Cross Country)
Matt Nelson (Men’s Basketball)
Maia Wendel (Women’s Tennis)

Fan of the Year Award
Charlie Williams

View More College News