Petry Captures Bison Open Title in Fargo

After a two-year stint where the University of Minnesota did not compete in the Bison Open, the Gophers returned and claimed multiple top finishes in Fargo, N.D.

Skyler Petry was able to capture the 125-pound title with four victories that included a pin, tech fall and a pair of decisions. Petry wrestled nearly all seven minutes before picking up a fall at the 6:12 mark over his Bison opponent. Petry took down Oscar Nellis of Minnesota State 15-0 before facing a pair of SDSU foes. In both the semifinals and the finals, Petry scored eight points and won by decision in both matches.

Coming close to a title was Chase O’Connor at 197. The sophomore reached the final with just two victories after a bye in the opening round but came up short in the finals dropping a major decision to Cordell Eaton of NDSU.

minnlogoIn 141, Brent Jones was able to capture a top-three finish for Minnesota with a 16-1 technical fall in the third place match. Jones won four matches on the day, highlighted by a 1:40 pin in the first round. In his victories, Jones outscored his opponents 38-7.

Minnesota had three competitors in 157, but Jose Champagne was able to finish the highest of the three. His four wins lead him to a third-place finish, including a narrow 3-2 decision in the third-place match over Nick Mergen of NDSU.

Dylan Anderson also was able to capture third place in 184 with an 11-6 decision over Tyler McNutt of NDSU. Anderson picked up three decision victories along the way, as well as a major decision in the consolation semifinals.

Two other Gophers finished in the top five, Ben Brancale finished in fourth place after winning four matches, including a 1:09 pin of Mitchell Friedman of NDSU. John Frisco brought back a fifth place at the Bison open with a pin in his last match at 5:49.

Minnesota had seven other wrestlers at the Bison Open. In 149, Jakob Bergeland and Tyler Waterson each won two matches, including a pin for Bergeland in his third match.

In 157, James Berg and Carson Brolsma each won a match. Brolsma picked up a technical fall in his first match, but had to retire due to an injury and gathered a sixth-place finish despite only wrestling once. Faris Karaborni won his second match of the year in 184, while Nate Rose won his third match of the year with a 22-second fall in his second match in Fargo.

Bison Open Results

With the first dual on Sunday, Nov. 12 against Air Force, is your home for Gopher Wrestling news. Be sure to follow Gopher Wrestling on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for the latest updates.

Match-by-Match Results:


Skyler Petry (4-0, 1st Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Skyler Petry fall (6:12) Tirso Lara (NDSU)
Quarters: Skyler Petry tech fall Oscar Nellis (Minnesota State), 15-0
Semis: Skyler Petry dec Justin Portillo (SDSU), 8-4
Finals: Skyler Petry dec Connor Brown (SDSU), 8-6


Brent Jones (4-1, 3rd Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Brent Jones fall (1:40) Dimitri Grivas (Minot State)
Quarters: Brent Jones dec Nicolas Colunga (NDSU) 10-4
Semis: Sam Hampton (NDSU) fall (5:44) Brent Jones
Cons Semis: Brent Jones maj dec Taylor Nein (NDSU), 12-2
3rd Place: Brent Jones tech fall Mason Schulz (Minnesota State), 16-1


Jakob Bergeland (2-2)
Pigtail: Jakob Bergeland tech fall Z. Scott 16-0
Champ Rnd 1: Kyle Gliva (NDSU) dec Jakob Bergeland, 3-2
Cons Rnd 1: Jakob Bergeland fall (2:30) Max Miller (Minot State)
Cons Rnd 2: Jaden VanMaanen (NDSU) dec Jakob Bergeland, 6-5

Tyler Waterson (2-2)
Champ Rnd 1: Tyler Waterson dec Austin Braun (NDSU), 8-3
Quarters: Ben Brancale (Minnesota) dec Tyler Waterson, 5-2
Cons Rnd 2: Tyler Waterson TB-1 (14-9) Gavin Sutton (NDSU)
Cons Quarters: Jaden VanMaanen (NDSU) fall (2:32) Tyler Waterson

Ben Brancale (4-2, 4th Place)
Pigtail: Ben Brancale fall (4:11) C. Horn
Champ Rnd 1: Ben Brancale dec Mitchell Friedman (NDSU), 11-10
Quarters: Ben Brancale dec Tyler Waterson (Minnesota), 5-2
Semis: Mitchell Bengtson (NDSU) dec Ben Brancale, 5-2
Cons Semis: Ben Brancale fall (1:09) Mitchell Friedman (NDSU)
3rd Place: Kyle Gliva (NDSU) dec Ben Brancale, 6-4


James Berg (1-2)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Quarters: Nick Mergen (NDSU) dec James Berg, 6-1
Cons Rnd 2: James Berg maj dec Nicholas Erbes (Minnesota State), 15-5
Cons Quarters: Jose Champagne (Minnesota) dec James Berg, 8-2

Carson Brolsma (1-0, 6th Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Quarters: Carson Brolsma tech fall Brandt Ackerman (Minot State), 19-2
Semis: Clayton Ream (NDSU) med Carson Brolsma
Cons Semis: Jose Champange (Minnesota) med Carson Brolsma
5th Place: Zach Berry (Minot State) med Carson Brolsma

Jose Champagne (4-1, 3rd Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Jose Champagne fall (4:14) Riley Byklum (Minnesota State-Mankato)
Quarters: Luke Zilverberg (SDSU) dec Jose Champagne, 5-1
Cons Rnd 2: Jose Champagne fall (2:21) Joseph Lopez (Minot State)
Cons Quarters: Jose Champagne dec James Berg (Minnesota), 8-2
Cons Semis: Jose Champagne med Carson Brolsma
3rd Place: Jose Champagne dec Nick Mergen (NDSU), 3-2


Dylan Anderson (4-1, 3rd Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Dylan Anderson dec Samuel Grove (SDSU), 7-3
Quarters: Dylan Anderson dec Cole Witzig (NDSU), 8-2
Semis: Brady Ayers (SDSU) dec Dylan Anderson, 8-3
Cons Semis: Dylan Anderson maj dec Keegan Berry (Minot State), 12-4
3rd Place: Dylan Anderson dec Tyler McNutt (NDSU), 11-6

Faris Karaborni (1-2)
Champ Rnd 1: Tyler McNutt (NDSU) maj dec Faris Karaborni, 13-4
Cons Rnd 1: Faris Karaborni dec Tijani Karaborni (Minnesota), 3-1
Cons Rnd 2: Faris Karaborni med Cole Witzig (NDSU)
Cons Quarters: John Frisco (Minnesota) dec Faris Karaborni, 9-2

Tijani Karaborni (0-2)
Champ Rnd 1: Keegan Berry (Minnesota State) dec Tijani Karaborni, 6-2
Cons Rnd 1: Faris Karaborni (Minnesota) dec Tijani Karaborni, 3-1

John Frisco (4-2, 5th Place)
Champ Rnd 1: John Frisco fall (0:41) Ethan Bryan (Northland Community College)
Quarters: Brady Ayers (SDSU) dec John Frisco, 5-2
Cons Rnd 2: John Frisco maj dec Cody Pahan (Unattached) 10-1
Cons Quarters: John Frisco dec Faris Karaborni (Minnesota), 9-2
Cons Semis: Tyler McNutt (NDSU) dec John Frisco, 6-5
5th Place: John Frisco fall (5:49) Keegan Berry (Minot State)


Chase O’Connor (2-1, 2nd Place)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Quarters: Chase O’Connor fall (3:22) Jesse Sherman (Unattached)
Semis: Chase O’Connor dec August Peplinski (NDSU), 10-4
Finals: Cordell Eaton (NDSU) maj dec Chase O’Connor, 15-4


Nate Rose (1-2)
Champ Rnd 1: Bye
Quarters: Alex Macki (SDSU) dec Nate Rose, 6-5
Cons Rnd 2: Nate Rose fall (0:22) Alfred Peters (Unattached)
Cons Quarters: Blake Wolters (SDSU) dec Nate Rose, 3-0

View More College News