2017 Midlands Championships

2017 Midlands Championships results. December 29-30 at Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Brackets/Results on TrackWrestling.com

Midlands – 125
1st Place – Nick Suriano of Rutgers
2nd Place – Ronnie Bresser of Oregon State
3rd Place – Sebastian Rivera of Northwestern
4th Place – Zeke Moisey of West Virginia
5th Place – Sean Russell of Edinboro
6th Place – Spencer Lee of Iowa – UNAT
7th Place – Luke Welch of Purdue
8th Place – Devin Schroder of Purdue
1st: Nick Suriano (Rutgers) won by decision over Ronnie Bresser (Oregon State) (Dec 2-1)
3rd: Sebastian Rivera (Northwestern) won by major decision over Zeke Moisey (West Virginia) (Maj 15-2)
5th: Sean Russell (Edinboro) won by medical forfeit over Spencer Lee (Iowa – UNAT) (MFF)
7th: Luke Welch (Purdue) won by decision over Devin Schroder (Purdue) (Dec 7-1)
Midlands – 133
1st Place – Seth Gross of South Dakota State
2nd Place – Bryan Lantry of Buffalo
3rd Place – Scott Delvecchio of Rutgers
4th Place – Micky Phillippi of Pittsburgh
5th Place – Dylan Duncan of Illinois
6th Place – Colin Valdiviez of Northwestern
7th Place – Paul Konrath of Wisconsin – UNAT
8th Place – Korbin Myers of Edinboro
1st: Seth Gross (South Dakota State) won by fall over Bryan Lantry (Buffalo) (Fall 2:47)
3rd: Scott Delvecchio (Rutgers) won in sudden victory – 1 over Micky Phillippi (Pittsburgh ) (SV-1 3-1)
5th: Dylan Duncan (Illinois) won by decision over Colin Valdiviez (Northwestern) (Dec 6-2)
7th: Paul Konrath (Wisconsin – UNAT) won by decision over Korbin Myers (Edinboro) (Dec 3-2)
Midlands – 141
1st Place – Mason Smith of Central Michigan
2nd Place – Cole Weaver of Indiana
3rd Place – Tyler Smith of Bucknell
4th Place – Nate Limmex of Purdue
5th Place – Max Murin of Iowa – UNAT
6th Place – Carter Happel of Iowa
7th Place – Yahya Thomas of Northwestern – UNAT
8th Place – Colton Schilling of Cal Poly
1st: Mason Smith (Central Michigan) won by decision over Cole Weaver (Indiana) (Dec 6-0)
3rd: Tyler Smith (Bucknell) won by decision over Nate Limmex (Purdue) (Dec 10-4)
5th: Max Murin (Iowa – UNAT) won by decision over Carter Happel (Iowa) (Dec 5-2)
7th: Yahya Thomas (Northwestern – UNAT) won by major decision over Colton Schilling (Cal Poly) (Maj 10-2)
Midlands – 149
1st Place – Brandon Sorensen of Iowa
2nd Place – Justin Oliver of Central Michigan
3rd Place – Ryan Deakin of Northwestern
4th Place – Pat Lugo of Iowa – UNAT
5th Place – Jason Tsirtsis of Arizona State
6th Place – Matthew Kolodzik of Princeton
7th Place – Austin O`Connor of North Carolina
8th Place – Steven Bleise of Minnesota – UNAT
1st: Brandon Sorensen (Iowa) won by decision over Justin Oliver (Central Michigan) (Dec 4-2)
3rd: Ryan Deakin (Northwestern) won by decision over Pat Lugo (Iowa – UNAT) (Dec 8-5)
5th: Jason Tsirtsis (Arizona State) won by decision over Matthew Kolodzik (Princeton) (Dec 5-4)
7th: Austin O`Connor (North Carolina) won by fall over Steven Bleise (Minnesota – UNAT) (Fall 0:57)
Midlands – 157
1st Place – Michael Kemerer of Iowa
2nd Place – Joshua Shields of Arizona State
3rd Place – John Vanschenkbrill of Rutgers
4th Place – Mike D`Angelo of Princeton
5th Place – Luke Zilverberg of South Dakota State
6th Place – Justin Staudenmayer of Brown
7th Place – Andrew Crone of Wisconsin
8th Place – Larry Early of Old Dominion
1st: Michael Kemerer (Iowa) won by decision over Joshua Shields (Arizona State) (Dec 5-2)
3rd: John Vanschenkbrill (Rutgers) won by decision over Mike D`Angelo (Princeton) (Dec 7-4)
5th: Luke Zilverberg (South Dakota State) won by decision over Justin Staudenmayer (Brown) (Dec 5-0)
7th: Andrew Crone (Wisconsin) won by decision over Larry Early (Old Dominion) (Dec 7-1)
Midlands – 165
1st Place – Alex Marinelli of Iowa
2nd Place – Jon Schleifer of Princeton
3rd Place – Richie Lewis of Rutgers
4th Place – Anthony Valencia of Arizona State
5th Place – Kaleb Young of Iowa
6th Place – May Bethea of Penn
7th Place – Jacob Morrissey of Purdue
8th Place – Logan Peterson of South Dakota State
1st: Alex Marinelli (Iowa) won in sudden victory – 1 over Jon Schleifer (Princeton) (SV-1 3-1)
3rd: Richie Lewis (Rutgers) won by decision over Anthony Valencia (Arizona State) (Dec 5-2)
5th: Kaleb Young (Iowa) won by decision over May Bethea (Penn) (Dec 2-0)
7th: Jacob Morrissey (Purdue) won in sudden victory – 1 over Logan Peterson (South Dakota State) (SV-1 7-5)
Midlands – 174
1st Place – Zahid Valencia of Arizona State
2nd Place – David Kocer of South Dakota State
3rd Place – Dylan Lydy of Purdue
4th Place – Mikey Labriola of Nebraska – UNAT
5th Place – Christian Brucki of Central Michigan
6th Place – Garrett Sutton of Michigan
7th Place – Johnny Sebastian of Northwestern
8th Place – Devin Skatzka of Indiana
1st: Zahid Valencia (Arizona State) won by major decision over David Kocer (South Dakota State) (Maj 18-7)
3rd: Dylan Lydy (Purdue) won by decision over Mikey Labriola (Nebraska – UNAT) (Dec 3-2)
5th: Christian Brucki (Central Michigan) won by fall over Garrett Sutton (Michigan) (Fall 5:53)
7th: Johnny Sebastian (Northwestern) won by major decision over Devin Skatzka (Indiana) (Maj 14-5)
Midlands – 184
1st Place – Emery Parker of Illinois
2nd Place – Nate Jackson of Princeton Wrestling Club
3rd Place – Jordan Ellingwood of Central Michigan
4th Place – Nino Bonaccorsi of Pittsburgh
5th Place – Joe Heyob of Penn
6th Place – Nick Gravina of Rutgers
7th Place – Martin Mueller of South Dakota State
8th Place – Kayne MacCallum of Eastern Michigan
1st: Emery Parker (Illinois) won by decision over Nate Jackson (Princeton Wrestling Club) (Dec 8-2)
3rd: Jordan Ellingwood (Central Michigan) won by decision over Nino Bonaccorsi (Pittsburgh ) (Dec 7-0)
5th: Joe Heyob (Penn) won by medical forfeit over Nick Gravina (Rutgers) (MFF)
7th: Martin Mueller (South Dakota State) won by decision over Kayne MacCallum (Eastern Michigan) (Dec 10-4)
Midlands – 197
1st Place – Cash Wilcke of Iowa
2nd Place – Frank Mattiace of Penn
3rd Place – Christian Brunner of Purdue
4th Place – Nate Rotert of South Dakota State
5th Place – Pat Brucki of Princeton
6th Place – Jacob Warner of Iowa – UNAT
7th Place – Jackson Striggow of Michigan
8th Place – Jacob Smith of West Virginia
1st: Cash Wilcke (Iowa) won in sudden victory – 1 over Frank Mattiace (Penn) (SV-1 3-1)
3rd: Christian Brunner (Purdue) won by medical forfeit over Nate Rotert (South Dakota State) (MFF)
5th: Pat Brucki (Princeton) won by decision over Jacob Warner (Iowa – UNAT) (Dec 4-2)
7th: Jackson Striggow (Michigan) won by medical forfeit over Jacob Smith (West Virginia) (MFF)
Midlands – 285
1st Place – Sam Stoll of Iowa
2nd Place – Tanner Hall of Arizona State
3rd Place – Youssif Hemida of Maryland
4th Place – Matt Stencel of Central Michigan
5th Place – Conan Jennings of Northwestern
6th Place – Amar Dhesi of Oregon State
7th Place – Shawn Streck of Purdue
8th Place – Jake Gunning of Buffalo
1st: Sam Stoll (Iowa) won by decision over Tanner Hall (Arizona State) (Dec 2-1)
3rd: Youssif Hemida (Maryland) won by fall over Matt Stencel (Central Michigan) (Fall 1:03)
5th: Conan Jennings (Northwestern) won by medical forfeit over Amar Dhesi (Oregon State) (MFF)
7th: Shawn Streck (Purdue) won by injury default over Jake Gunning (Buffalo) (Inj. 5:00)

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?