St. Cloud State turns in top performances at 2017 Holiday Inn/Huskies Open

The #1 St. Cloud State University wrestling team (5-0, 1-0 NSIC) turned in several top performances at the 2017 Holiday Inn/Huskies Open, which was held on Saturday, Dec. 9 in the Halenbeck Hall Fieldhouse in St. Cloud, Minn.

The tournament featured many of the region’s top collegiate programs including wrestlers from SCSU, Minnesota, Augsburg, Minnesota State Moorhead, Southwest Minnesota State, North Dakota State, St. John’s and Minnesota State Mankato. The tournament was held in an open style format and no team scores were kept.

At 125-pounds, Brett Velasquez claimed first place in the tournament with a perfect 4-0 record. He gained two tech falls and a fall on the way to the top place at 125. In action at 133-pounds, SCSU’s Garrett Vos and Jordan Aquino both scored 4-0 record for the Huskies.

scsulogoAt 141-pounds, Jarred Oftedahl continued his undefeated season with a 4-0 record that included a 5-2 win over teammate Ryan Rodorigo in the bracket title bout at 141. Oftedahl is now 16-0 on the season. Rodorigo and teammate Travis Swanson were both 3-1 in action at 141.

In the 149-pound bracket, James Pleski was 4-0 and won the top spot with a 3-2 win over teammate Taner Trembley in the championship match at 149. Pleski improves to 12-1 with the wins at the Huskies Open.

Larry Bomstad (left) and John Oxton

Larry Bomstad went 4-0 at 157-pounds and won the top spot at the tournament with a big 9-5 win over Miles Patton of DI rival Minnesota. Bomstad is now 14-0 this season and was selected as the 2017 Holiday Inn/Huskies Open John Oxton Award winner (MVP). At 165-pounds, Travis Holt and Devin Donovan both completed the tournament with 3-0 records to earn co-champion honors.

At 174-pounds, Kolton Eischens continued to impress with a 4-0 record and a first place finish at the Open. In the title bout, Eischens chalked up a 6:27 fall against Tanner Vassar of Augsburg. At 197-pounds, Vince Dietz and Noah Ryan shared the top honors in the bracket with 2-0 records at the tournament, while Brady Reigstad and Zach Muller were both 4-1 in action at 285-pounds.

2017 SCSU Holiday Inn/Huskies Open Results

Jack Gause Award Winner (Most Pins in the Least Amount of Time): Nate Rose, 285-pounds (Minnesota)
John Oxton Award Winner (MVP): Larry Bomstad, 157-pounds (SCSU)

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.