2018 MCC Region I Hall of Fame Banquet to take place on March 5th

The Mayo Civic Center Region I Wrestling Hall of Fame Committee has selected seven new members for induction on Monday, March 5, 2018.

The banquet will coincide with The Clash Seniors Banquet at Charlie’s Eatery in the Hillcrest Shopping Center, 1654 US 52 N, Rochester, Minn.

Social hour will be at 5:30 PM. Dinner and the Program honoring the Section 1 Seniors and Hall of Fame Program will be from 6-8 PM. Contact Rick Ties for tickets at $30.00 each at rickties@gmail.com or 507-358-7075 (Cell). The event is sponsored by The Clash Committee.

2018 MCC Region I Hall of Fame Class

Dave Schulte directed his Lancer Wrestling Teams to a 327-137-6 mark in 26 years. Dave’s teams won four Conference titles and six District I Championships, along with a Minnesota State Dual meet Appearances. Dave’s Softball teams amassed 372 Career in 25 years and a State Championship as well.

Kasey Meiners was the all-time wins leaders at Caledonia with 186. Kasey earned five trips to the state tournament where he placed as high as 2nd and 3rd. The crowning jewel was when he won the NJCAA National title in his back yard for the RCTC Yellowjackets at 174 Pounds in 2006 and was selected OW. His pin came at the 1:00 mark in the finals at the RCTC Fieldhouse.

Zach won five state championships for his dad Ron at Wabasha-Kellogg High School, where he rewrote the record book. Zach was a four-time All-American for The University of Minnesota Golden Gophers. Zach is in his fifth season as a volunteer assistant and administrative assistant for the Gopher Program and still competes International freestyle for the Minnesota Storm.

Craig was an official at all levels for close to 30 years. Craig was also a standout wrestler earning four All-American honors at Upper Iowa University. Craig won the NAIA National Championship in 1970. An NCAA College Division All-American in 1968 (5th), and 6th and 3rd at NAIA’s in 1969 and 1971. Son Clint was a state place winner for Stewartville High School

Jeff assisted the Huskies Head Coach Scot Davis for 23 years. Jeff was selected as the Section 1AAA Assistant Wrestling Coach of the Year. Jeff was selected as the 2017 National Assistant Coach of the Year by USA Wrestling Magazine. Jeff was St. Michael-Albertville’s first state champion.

Mike has given back to the sport of wrestling for over 25 years. Mike has been on The Clash Committee for 16 years. Mike lines up the sponsors for The Clash Tournaments, and that helps toward the scholarships for our Section 1 wrestlers. Mike’s State Farm Insurance Agency has been a key contributor over the years. Son Charlie wrestled for Old Dominion University.

Spencer has given back to the sport of wrestling as a coach and contributor for 50 years. Spencer is a member of multiple Halls of Fame at the national, state, regional, and local levels. A 1968 graduate of Caledonia High, and a WSU Presidential Medallion Award Winner in 2002, helped organized the Hall in 2007.

Would you like to receive the latest Minnesota wrestling news in your inbox?