Four NDSU Wrestlers Take First Place at North Country Open

COLLEGEVILLE, Minn. – Four unattached North Dakota State University wrestlers – 125 Brent Fleetwood, 141 Taylor Nein, 149 Jaden Van Maanen and 184 Michael Otomo — claimed first place at the North Country Open hosted by Saint John’s University on Saturday, Jan. 27.

Eight out of the dozen NDSU wrestlers placed in the top seven as unattached 133 Sawyer Degen was runner-up, unattached 149 Gavin Sutton and unattached 285 Brandon Metz both took third place, 125 Tirso Lara finished fifth and unattached 149 Austin Braun was seventh. Metz went 3-1 including a pair of pins in 21-seconds and 30-seconds.

Fleetwood, a Central Michigan transfer from Smyrna, Del., compiled a 3-0 record including a pair of major decisions and one tech fall in his first action of the season. He was a two-time NCAA qualifier at 125 pounds for the Chippewas in 2016 and 2017.

ndsulogo Nein, a 141-pound sophomore from Bismarck, N.D., won four straight bouts including a 10-8 sudden victory-1 overtime win over Southwest State’s Trent Butcher. His tournament included a pair of tech falls and his third pin of the season. Nein improved to 10-9.

Van Maanen, a 149-pound freshman from La Crosse, Wis., also posted a 4-0 record including a tech fall and major decision. Van Maanen is now 11-7 this season.

Otomo, a Wisconsin-La Crosse transfer from Dover, Minn., posted three straight decisions to take the 184 pound title. Otomo improved to 7-5.

North Country Open Results

North Dakota State at North Country Open
Saturday, Jan. 27, 2018 / Saint John’s University / Collegeville, Minn.

Brent Fleetwood
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 1st Place, 125)
W tech fall Matt Petersen (MSU-Mankato), TF 16-0
W major dec Victor Gliva (Augsburg), MD 13-3
W major dec over Noah Becker (Saint John`s), MD 14-3

Tirso Lara
at North Country Open (1-27-18, 5th Place, 125)
L fall Victor Gliva (Augsburg), 2:50
W tech fall Matt Petersen (MSU-Mankato), TF 19-3
L major dec Brian Maas (Iowa Lakes CC), MD 16-6
W medical forfeit Kylan Seats (Iowa Lakes CC), MFF

Sawyer Degen
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 2nd Place, 133)
W major dec Sam Bennyhoff (Augsburg), MD 15-3
W fall Adam Hedin (St. Cloud State), 6:43
W dec Jordan Aquino (St. Cloud State), 7-6
L fall Shiquan Hall (St. Cloud State), 3:45

Taylor Nein
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 1st Place, 141)
W fall Charlie DesMarais (Unattached), 1:42
W sudden victory – 1 Trent Butcher (Southwest State), SV-1 10-8
W tech fall Tony Heng (MSU-Mankato), TF 16-0
W tech fall Mike Hayes (Augsburg), TF 17-2

Brody Schmidt
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 141)
L dec Mike Hayes (Augsburg), 9-2
L dec Anthony Hennen (Saint John`s), 5-3

Jaden Van Maanen
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 1st Place, 149)
W medical forfeit Alex Wilson (Augsburg), MFF
W major decision over Aric Williams (South Dakota State), MD 14-1
W tech fall over Gavin Sutton (Unattached), TF 16-0
W medical forfeit over Jake Barzowski (St. Cloud State), MFF

Austin Braun
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 7th Place, 149)
W dec over Tanner Day (Unattached), 5-3
L major dec Aaron Wilson (Augsburg), MD 9-0
W major dec over Robert Shields (Southwest State), MD 15-7
W dec Zachary Beaumaster (Southwest State), 5-3
W dec over Shawn Barth (Augsburg), 11-5
L dec Cruze Hurlburt (Augsburg), 17-12
W dec Chris Healy (Wisconsin-La Crosse), 9-7

Gavin Sutton
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 3rd Place, 149)
W major dec Justin Schultz (MSU-Mankato), MD 8-0
W decision over Boone Young (Augsburg), 11-4
L tech fall Jaden VanMaanen (Unattached), TF 16-0
W tech fall Cruze Hurlburt (Augsburg), TF 19-3
W medical forfeit Aaron Wilson (Augsburg), MFF

Sam Gilseth
at North Country Open (1-27-18, 157)
L tech fall Logan Saltou (MSU-Mankato), TF 18-3
W dec Josh Verbeten (Augsburg), 5-3
L fall Bryce Zdanovec (Augsburg), 4:22

Jesse Shearer
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 174)
W dec Josh Barzowski (St. Cloud State), 10-5
medical forfeit Jack Edberg (Unattached), MFF
medical forfeit Solomon Nielsen (Augsburg), MFF

Michael Otomo
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 1st Place, 184)
W dec Jonathan Zarnke (Augsburg), 8-4
W dec Sam Truen (Itasca CC), 11-5
W dec Luke Dodd (Saint John`s), 10-3

Brandon Metz
at North Country Open (Unattached, 1-27-18, 3rd Place, 285)
W fall Tim Mandyck (Unattached), 0:21
L dec Zachary Muller (St. Cloud State), 6-4
W fall Troy Beaman (St. Olaf), 0:30
W dec Blake Wolters (South Dakota State), 5-3

Check out North Dakota State Wrestling on Twitter.

View More College News