2018 MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team Named

The 2018 edition of the MWCA All-State Academic Wrestling Team is a Senior-dominated group that truly represents what is great about the youth of our sport. “The focus of this award is to reward some of our state’s most dedicated wrestlers for their work in the classroom; student-athletes that have shown prowess on the mat, and also in the classroom are what coaches should be looking for in their development of young adults. These wrestlers certainly represent that ideal very well!” commented Joe Puncochar, MWCA All-State Academic Chairperson.

The 28 member team consists of 22 seniors and six juniors. Four student-athletes carry a perfect 4.0 GPA: Ethan Arett of Westfield, Nic Fite of Fridley, Clay Carlson of Willmar and Mitchell Oswald of Westfield. Overall this year’s squad carried a 3.53 combined GPA. The 28 selected to be recognized are among 125 applicants statewide. These student-athletes are not only getting it done on the mat, but they are also getting it done in the classroom!

On the mat, this team has amassed nine state championships and 22 total state-finals appearances. They have also earned 3,887 wins with a winning percentage of almost 80%! Leading the way, are two-time state champions Michael Suda of Pipestone Area, Jake Gliva of Simley, and Peyton Robb of Owatonna. All three scored over 1250 points using the system below.

  1. Cumulative GPA – example: 3.95 x 2 = 790 points
  2. Overall matches wrestled – wins and losses – 1 point per match
  3. Winning percentage – 77% = 77 points
  4. State Tournament Participation – 25 points per year
  5. State Tournament Placement – 1st (50 points), 2nd (40), 3rd (35), 4th (25), 5th (20) and 6th (10)

Other State Champions selected to the team are Jake Mandt of Chatfield, Tyler Eischens of Anoka, and Kenny O’Neil of Prior Lake.

Class AA led the way with 11 honorees, A with 10, and AAA with 7. Westfield, Scott West, Willmar, and Zumbrota-Mazeppa each had two wrestlers selected to the team. Repeat members on this team are Michael Suda of Pipestone Area, Jake Gliva of Simley, Brady Tweeton of Barnesville, Zach Buseman of Blue Earth Area, and Kenny O’Neil of Prior Lake.

“These young adults truly represent what it means to be a student-athlete. Their dedication in the classroom and on the mat will help them be successful with everything they do in life. I want to especially thank our dedicated coaches for nominating their wrestlers each year,” said Puncochar.

The 28 honorees will be awarded plaques at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul during the State Tournament.

2018 Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) All-State Academic Team
106 – Ethan Arett – Westfield
106 – Makayla Welch – Cambridge-Isanti
113 – Jared Johnson – Kasson-Mantorville
113 – Reier Sjomeling – Delano
120 – Jake Andres – Pierz
120 – Brayden Sorenson – Fosston-Bagley
126 – Michael Suda – Pipestone Area
126 – Jackson Stauffacher – Scott West
132 – Jake Gliva – Simley
132 – Clay Carlson – Willmar
138 – Nic Fite – Fridley
138 – Cael Carlson – Willmar
145 – Brady Tweeton – Barnesville
145 – Jake Mandt – Chatfield
152 – Tyler Eischens – Anoka
152 – Zach Buseman – Blue Earth Area
160 – Peyton Robb – Owatonna
160 – Jacob Tvinnereim – Jackson County Central
170 – Kenny O’ Neil – Prior Lake
170 – Zach Glazier – Albert Lea
182 – Collin Steuber – Fairmont/MCW
182 – Tyler Buesgens – Scott West
195 – Jacob Bennett – Zumbrota-Mazeppa
195 – Ty Moser – Perham
220 – Robert Striggow – Orono
220 – Jarrett Haglund – Zumbrota-Mazeppa
Hwt – Zachary Jakes – Mankato West
Hwt – Mitchell Oswald – Westfield