Arredondo undefeated as four Mustangs advance to day two at NCAA Regional

ST. CLOUD, Minn. – Cortez Arredondo picked up a pair of victories, including defeating the No. 3 ranked individual at 157 pounds, to help pace the Southwest Minnesota State wrestling team at the Super Region 3 Championships on Friday hosted by St. Cloud State University.

Arredondo is the lone Mustang undefeated in the championship and has advanced to the championship round semifinals on Saturday. He is one of four Mustangs still alive in the two-day championship. Day two action begins on Saturday at 11 a.m.

smsulogoArredondo opened the day with a 10-2 major decision over Bruce Lemon from Augustana, before earning a 4-3 decision over third-ranked Larry Bomstad from St. Cloud State.

At 174 pounds, Griffin Osing lost his first match to Jordan Gundrum from Upper Iowa, before rebounding with a win by fall over Sam Pennington from Lindenwood (Mo.). He then moved to Saturday’s action by earning a forfeit victory in the consolation second round.

Jackson Ryan at 197 pounds is still alive heading into the consolation third round on Saturday. He picked up 15-6 major decision over Emmitt Brooks from U-Mary in the first round, before losing 5-3 to Clayton Wahlstrom from Augustana in the quarterfinals. He stayed alive by closing the day with a 13-8 win over Luke Diener from McKendree (Ill.).

Heavyweight Andrew Petersen also advanced to Saturday’s action. He received a first-round bye, before losing in overtime to Mitchell Eull from Minot State. Petersen bounced back with a 10-3 win over Jordan Magnuson from MSU Moorhead to advance to the consolation third round.

NCAA DII Super 3 Regional Update

The top four individuals from each weight class advance to the NCAA Division II Championships on March 9-10 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

First Round Results (Friday, Feb. 23)
125 | Marcus Povlick (McKendree) def. Taylor Curtis (SMSU), 9-1, Major Decision
133 | Brayden Curry (Augustana) def. Brock Buysse (SMSU), 7-2, Decision
141 | Keaten Schorr (Augustana) def. Trent Butcher (SMSU), 4-0, Decision
149 | Justin Haneke (SMSU) def. Kaleb Warner (Central Missouri), Fall, 5:31
157 | Cortez Arredondo (SMSU) def. Bruce Lemon (Augustana), 10-2, Major Decision
165 | Jesse Reser (Central Missouri) def. Kegen Fingalsen (SMSU), 9-2, Decision
174 | Jordan Gundrum (Upper Iowa) def. Griffin Osing (SMSU), Fall, 6:06
184 | Cole Hennen (SMSU) def. Keegan Berry (Minot State), 8-0, Major Decision
197 | Jackson Ryan (SMSU) def. Emmitt Brooks (U-Mary), 15-6, Major Decision
285 | Andrew Petersen (SMSU), BYE

Championship Quarterfinals (Friday, Feb. 23) –
149 | James Pleski (St. Cloud State) def. Justin Haneke (SMSU), 12-4, Major Decision
157 | Cortez Arredondo (SMSU) def. Larry Bomstad (St. Cloud State), 4-3, Decision
184 | Tyree Overton (St. Cloud State) def. Cole Hennen (SMSU), 7-5, Decision
197 | Clayton Wahlstrom (Augustana) def. Jackson Ryan (SMSU), 5-3, Decision
285 | Mitchell Eull (Minot State) def. Andrew Petersen, TB-1, 2-1 OT, Decision

Wrestle-Backs: First Round (Friday, Feb. 23):
125 | Taylor Curtis (SMSU) def. Max Newbury (Drury), 14-4, Major Decision
133 | Daide Agnew (Central Missouri) def. Brock Buysse (SMSU), 8-4, Decision
141 | Trent Butcher (SMSU), BYE
165 | Kegen Fingalsen (SMSU), BYE
174 | Griffin Osing (SMSU) def. Sam Pennington (Lindenwood), Fall, 2:59

Wrestle-Backs: Second Round (Friday, Feb. 23) –
125 | Andrew McFall (Minnesota State) def. Taylor Curtis (SMSU), 4-2, Decision
141 | Will Roark (Maryville) def. Trent Butcher (SMSU), 10-3, Decision
149 | Nate Trepanier (Lindenwood) def. Justin Haneke (SMSU), Tech Fall, 4:26, 19-2
165 | Qiante Wagner (McKendree) def. Kegen Fingalsen (SMSU), Fall, 4:28
174 | Griffin Osing (SMSU) def. Jacob Brune (Drury), M. forfeit
184 | Jackson Schichel (U-Mary) def. Cole Hennen (SMSU), M. forfeit
197 | Jackson Ryan (SMSU) def. Luke Diener (McKendree), 13-8, Decision
285 | Andrew Petersen (SMSU) def. Jordan Magnuson (MSU Moorhead), 10-3, Decision

Wrestle-Backs: Third Round – 11 a.m.
174 | Griffin Osing (SMSU) vs. Lukas Poloncic (Augustana)
197 | Jackson Ryan (SMSU) vs. Jared McKindley (Lindenwood)
285 | Andrew Petersen (SMSU) vs. Christian Boyles (McKendree)

Championship Semifinal (Saturday, Feb. 24) – 11 a.m.
157 | Cortez Arredondo (SMSU) vs. Daniel Close (Minnesota State)

View More College News

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.